Mojave breaks Bootcamp on Fusion Drive

Discussion in 'macOS Mojave (10.14)' started by neek, Sep 24, 2018.

  1. neek macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    #1
    DANGER! Beware.

    After updating my 2013 iMac w/Fusion drive to Mojave, Boot Camp is broken.

    Instead of the NTFS "BOOTCAMP" volume I now have an APFS "BOOTCAMP_VOL" containing a "bootcamp.dmg" file which appears to be a disk image of my former Boot Camp volume.

    No idea how to proceed, but be warned if you're upgrading to Mojave.
     
  2. richard69 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2014
    #2
    Are you serious ? Can you please post a image ?

    I'm about to update my iMac, that contain a bootcamp partition
     
  3. neek thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    #3
    Here's the output of "diskutil list" with the image mounted.

    Code:
    /dev/disk0 (internal, physical):
       #:                       TYPE NAME                    SIZE       IDENTIFIER
       0:      GUID_partition_scheme                        *121.3 GB   disk0
       1:                        EFI EFI                     209.7 MB   disk0s1
       2:                 Apple_APFS Container disk2         121.1 GB   disk0s2
    
    /dev/disk1 (internal, physical):
       #:                       TYPE NAME                    SIZE       IDENTIFIER
       0:      GUID_partition_scheme                        *3.0 TB     disk1
       1:                        EFI EFI                     209.7 MB   disk1s1
       2:                 Apple_APFS Container disk2         3.0 TB     disk1s2
    
    /dev/disk2 (synthesized):
       #:                       TYPE NAME                    SIZE       IDENTIFIER
       0:      APFS Container Scheme -                      +3.1 TB     disk2
                                     Physical Stores disk0s2, disk1s2
       1:                APFS Volume Macintosh HD            2.6 TB     disk2s1
       2:                APFS Volume Preboot                 42.4 MB    disk2s2
       3:                APFS Volume BOOTCAMP_VOL            218.6 GB   disk2s3
       4:                APFS Volume Recovery                512.4 MB   disk2s4
       5:                APFS Volume VM                      2.1 GB     disk2s5
    
    /dev/disk3 (disk image):
       #:                       TYPE NAME                    SIZE       IDENTIFIER
       0:      GUID_partition_scheme                        +218.6 GB   disk3
       1:       Microsoft Basic Data BOOTCAMP                218.6 GB   disk3s1
     

    Attached Files:

  4. richard69 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2014
    #4
    Thanks for the advice. I will backup my bootcamp files first.

    You still can access your files in this DMG file ?
     
  5. neek thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    #5
    Yes, the files from my Bootcamp partition are all on the DMG and accessible that way. Trying to change boot volume via startup disk only shows the Mac volume. Selecting Windows via option booting gives me a blue screen saying the volume is damaged.

    Curious to see how your install goes. You're a brave soul.
     
  6. oVerboost macrumors 6502a

    oVerboost

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #6
    Bootcamp working fine for me with Mojave... (2017 iMac 27").

    The only thing that doesn't work is the "boot into OSX" from the bottom menu within Windows, you instead just shut down/restart and hold down option/alt and select OSX which isn't a big issue really.
     
  7. neek thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    #7
    Does your iMac have a Fusion drive? Or SSD only?
     
  8. Jim Byram macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2018
    #8
    Same for me. late 2013 iMac w/ 3 Tb fusion drive

    I see that the MacOS partitions have been converted to APFS. The Boot Camp partitions are fine and working. Like oVerboost said, you need to restart with the Option key held down and select MacOS to change from Windows to MacOS. Hopefully, Apple will release a driver update for Windows before long that supports APFS so that the Boot Camp utility can be used to restart in MacOs.
     
  9. neek thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    #9
    Could you go into Terminal and post the output of "diskutil list"?

    Tried reinstalling Windows but Boot Camp Assistant cancelled with an error at the end.
     
  10. Jim Byram macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2018
    #10
    neek,

    Here's my diskutil list...

    /dev/disk0 (internal, physical):

    #: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER

    0: GUID_partition_scheme *121.3 GB disk0

    1: EFI EFI 209.7 MB disk0s1

    2: Apple_APFS Container disk2 121.1 GB disk0s2


    /dev/disk1 (internal, physical):

    #: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER

    0: GUID_partition_scheme *3.0 TB disk1

    1: EFI EFI 209.7 MB disk1s1

    2: Apple_APFS Container disk2 1.4 TB disk1s2

    3: Microsoft Basic Data BootCamp 1.6 TB disk1s3

    4: Windows Recovery 2.1 GB disk1s4


    /dev/disk2 (synthesized):

    #: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER

    0: APFS Container Scheme - +1.6 TB disk2

    Physical Stores disk0s2, disk1s2

    1: APFS Volume Macintosh HD 28.9 GB disk2s1

    2: APFS Volume Preboot 43.9 MB disk2s2

    3: APFS Volume Recovery 512.4 MB disk2s3

    4: APFS Volume VM 2.1 GB disk2s4
     
  11. Wxchaser, Sep 25, 2018
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2018

    Wxchaser macrumors regular

    Wxchaser

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2017
    #11
    In the same boat, iMAC Retina 5K from late 2014. 4.0 GHz i7, 32 GB 1600 MHz DDR3 memory, AMD Radeon R9 M295X 4096 MB, and the 3.12 TB Fusion drive.


    [​IMG]

    IMAC:~ Steve$ diskutil list

    /dev/disk0 (internal, physical):

    #: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER

    0: GUID_partition_scheme *121.3 GB disk0

    1: EFI EFI 209.7 MB disk0s1

    2: Apple_APFS Container disk2 121.1 GB disk0s2


    /dev/disk1 (internal, physical):

    #: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER

    0: GUID_partition_scheme *3.0 TB disk1

    1: EFI EFI 209.7 MB disk1s1

    2: Apple_APFS Container disk2 1.4 TB disk1s2

    3: Microsoft Basic Data WINDOWS10 1.6 TB disk1s3

    4: Windows Recovery 471.9 MB disk1s4


    /dev/disk2 (synthesized):

    #: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER

    0: APFS Container Scheme - +1.6 TB disk2

    Physical Stores disk1s2, disk0s2

    1: APFS Volume Macintosh HD 427.5 GB disk2s1

    2: APFS Volume Preboot 42.0 MB disk2s2

    3: APFS Volume Recovery 512.4 MB disk2s3

    4: APFS Volume VM 20.5 KB disk2s4


    /dev/disk3 (external, physical):

    #: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER

    0: GUID_partition_scheme *3.0 TB disk3

    1: EFI EFI 314.6 MB disk3s1

    2: Microsoft Basic Data EXTERNAL 3.0 TB disk3s2


    /dev/disk4 (external, physical):

    #: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER

    0: GUID_partition_scheme *2.0 TB disk4

    1: EFI EFI 209.7 MB disk4s1

    2: Apple_HFS Seagate Backup Plus ... 2.0 TB disk4s2
     
  12. aliensporebomb macrumors 68000

    aliensporebomb

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2005
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN, USA, Urth
    #12
    I fully expect I'll encounter this - I took a chance and upgraded since my music apps worked on the external drive I set up with Mojave.

    I'll give it a try tonight.

    CPU: 4.0 GHZ Corei7 iMac 2015 with 32 gigs of ram and M290X video card.
    Drive: 1 TB Fusion Drive
     
  13. neek thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    #13
    I think the difference is that both Wxchaser and Jim are running large (1.6TB) Bootcamps. Your Bootcamp partitions are the last ones on the disk. Mine was small so it split the Mac partitions with Bootcamp in the middle. Looks like the only Bootcamp that may eventually work in one that takes up at least 1TB of the 3TB drive.

    Currently doing a full restore to see what I can salvage and possibly go back to HFS. Forgot how SLOW spinning disks are...
     
  14. jqworle macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2013
    Location:
    UK
    #14
    I have a late 2014 27 iMac with 3T. Fusion drive and the upgrade to Mojave has borked my bootcamp partition as well. I am also unable to reinstall windows as the boot camp fails, it will be interesting to see if anybody manages to get it back or I will have to revert to high Sierra again.
     
  15. aliensporebomb macrumors 68000

    aliensporebomb

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2005
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN, USA, Urth
    #15
    Update: I basically just boot with the option key held down and pick windows or macos from there and I've always done that actually.
     
  16. gpociej macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2013
    #16
    According to Apple's document (https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT209057), Mohave breaks Boot Camp on iMacs 27" 3TB Hard Drive from late 2012 and it wouldn't be possible to use Boot Camp on these models...
     
  17. jqworle macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2013
    Location:
    UK
    #17
    Looks like it’s not only 2012 models with 3TB fusion drives that are affected as there are many forums where people with 2013,2014 iMacs also loose bootcamp functionality, me included on my late 2014imac.
     
  18. PowerMac G4 MDD macrumors 68000

    PowerMac G4 MDD

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Location:
    At the intersection of Conch and Coral.
    #18
    On a separate note, I can no longer boot into my normal NTFS Windows 10 SSD, from my 2009 Mac Pro. This isn't even a Bootcamp issue—just some strange glitch. I have no EFI card, so not really sure what's going on behind the scenes; black screen and no progress.
     
  19. Wxchaser macrumors regular

    Wxchaser

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2017
    #19
    Mine is a late 2014 iMac.
     
  20. jqworle macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2013
    Location:
    UK
    #20
    Must be affecting only smaller partitions, mine was 150GB and I still cannot partition the disk without it failing, I might try a 1tb partition to see if that works.
     
  21. vorcyon macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2018
    #21
    Slightly different experience here.

    Late 2013 27" iMac, 3TB Fusion drive
    250 GB Bootcamp partition containing Windows 10

    Updated to Mojave with no problems. My Windows partition continued to work just fine until I tried to upgrade it to the October 2018 update. The update crashed when it rebooted and made it unusable. I really didn't have anything on it so I figured I'd remove it and reinstall. The removal worked fine but I get a cannot partition disk error when it tries to reinstall and I've had no luck trying to figure out why.
     
  22. GGmBrand macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2018
    #22
    Going through similar.
    2015 MacBook Pro, no issue
    2012 Mac Mini, no go


     
  23. robk64 macrumors newbie

    robk64

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Location:
    Abroad
    #23
    Same issue. The Apple support site clearly states that a late 2012 27" iMac with 3TB Fusion drive will no longer support a BootCamp partition. You may have a Boot Camp partition in High Sierra, but once you attempt to install Mojave, you'll be instructed to delete the Boot Camp partition, and then warned that installing Windows via Boot Camp will no longer be possible on this computer. Funny thing, though, is I got the same message/warning on a late 2013 27" iMac with Fusion drive.
    As for installing on my 2012 Mac Mini with homemade Fusion drive, the first two attempts failed. During the first attempt, the logical drive was separated in the file format conversion process, causing two drives to appear under the About This Mac > Storage tab. Two drives, same storage, same space allocation. The second attempt allowed me to convert back to the original file format. The third attempt worked. Not an issue, except for taking up the better part of a day. I had wiped the drive(s) knowing that things could go wrong - or at least not entirely smoothly - so the repeated OS rewrites were unemotional events. Had I had data on the drive(s) and had to do fresh installs, that would have made for a bad day. Or, a longer one.
    Somewhat disappointed with Apple over this. Implementation of Mojave doesn't seem very well planned or thought out regarding its previously stated compatibility. For me, losing the ability to use Boot Camp/Windows on my 2013 iMac is not an option. High Sierra on that machine, for the foreseeable future.
     
  24. neek, Oct 17, 2018
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2018

    neek thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    #24
    I was able to get Boot Camp back on my Mojave updated 2013 iMac w/3TB Fusion drive. It's time-consuming and ugly, but it worked.

    • Mounted the Bootcamp.dmg file and created an image file of the mounted disk image using Winclone 7.
    • Cloned/backed-up my Fusion drive using Superduper.
    • Booted from backup.
    • Rebuild Fusion Drive as HFS+. (there's an Apple Tech Document on how to do this... not in my notes)
    • Clone backup to the HFS+ formatted Fusion drive.
    • Install a fresh Windows 10 using Boot Camp Assistant.
    • Restore Winclone image file back to the new Bootcamp partition.
    I believe it's now using EFI booting instead of legacy booting since the Bootcamp partition is past the 2TB boundary on the Hard Drive.

    Good luck!

    FYI: This is all with a small (~240G) Bootcamp partition
     
  25. esatamacmodular, Oct 17, 2018
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2018

    esatamacmodular macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    #25
    this is a very important development/ update for us fusion bootcamp users. thank you for posting! Sounds like still no love for the 1TB fusion owners though...
     

Share This Page