Mojave Clean Install does not work

Discussion in 'macOS Mojave (10.14)' started by ales876, Sep 28, 2018.

  1. ales876, Sep 28, 2018
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2018

    ales876 macrumors regular

    ales876

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2016
    Location:
    Munich
    #1
    Hi,

    I wanted to make a clean install on my machine and I followed the tutorials on the web, I was familiar with the process so I did it as usual.

    All went well, I got the bootable USB with Mojave on it.

    But when I wiped my drive and make a restart, I go and press OPTION+R

    I cann see either Macintosh HD AND the USB Drive Saying Mojave Installer

    But when I pick the Installer, nothing happens, he wants to connect to wifi.

    Any ideas?

    Thanks
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Howard2k macrumors 68020

    Howard2k

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    #2
    I got nothing. When you click on your HDD what happens? Can you post screenshots.
     
  3. BasicGreatGuy Contributor

    BasicGreatGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    In the middle of several books.
    #3
    Click on the installer and then sign into your Wifi. That should start the install process.
     
  4. Dingster101 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2015
    #4
    Just did this. Wiped drive, selected Option-CMD-R and did a clean install IMG_0457.jpg
     
  5. ales876 thread starter macrumors regular

    ales876

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2016
    Location:
    Munich
    #5
    Either way, he wants to connect to wifi, if I click on the installer he prompts me wifi instead of saying hello and install stuff.

    When I click on HDD he wants the Wifi and then starts his usual boot stuff.


    No it doesnt, he does his 3 min dowonload thing and then I'm back in the normal option mode


    Tried this yesterday 3 times, didnt work.



    I got my working laptop here right now and will clean install it as well, let's see if it works as expected.
     
  6. TokMok3 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2015
    #6

    Install the OS version that came with your MacBook Pro by using the internet install [shift - option - command -r], this will fix you internal drive and it will take care of the partitions, once you have installed the OS that came with you MacBook Pro you have 3 options:

    1 Upgrade to Mohave by the Mac Apple store.
    2 Do an internet install by pressing [option - command - r] it will install the latest OS that you MacBook can run.
    3 make a usb installer.

    I hope this helps.
     
  7. ales876 thread starter macrumors regular

    ales876

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2016
    Location:
    Munich
    #7
    Thanks,

    I tried the last two options, none of them worked. I saw on the apple disucssion that there is a problem with the t2, so yeah.... i will check what i can do.
     
  8. TokMok3 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2015
    #8
    Good luck with that!
    --- Post Merged, Sep 29, 2018 ---
    At the end, you will learn a lot.
     
  9. DeadeyeM macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #9
    Why did you make USB???? you should have upgraded to Mojave and then go in with CMD + R to wipe the drive and reinstall
     
  10. ales876 thread starter macrumors regular

    ales876

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2016
    Location:
    Munich
    #10
    Because if worked totally fine the last few years.


    I don't know why and how but it worked for me, to go to recovery mode, wipe the ssd and then install it. took about an hour, but went all. for now I'm missing nothing.

    thanks anyways guys!
     
  11. DeadeyeM macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #11
    I'm generally thinking why create a USB, when Mac already will have a partition with OS Instal
     
  12. TokMok3 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2015
    #12
    When there's no high speed internet connection and the sdd drive needs to be formatted or upgrading the ssd drive to name a few situations.
     
  13. tmcnulty1381 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Location:
    Eastern Massachusetts
    #13
    In my journey from upgrading from HS to Mohave, the cmdR did not work at home or at the
    Apple store. My only solution was back to HS letting Apple Store do it overnight.
    Once I did the initial Mohave DL and upgrade my two month old iMac 27 was a no network
    Device (WiFi or Enet). At the Apple store the os seemed to load but choked on the TM restore.
    The TM restore loaded onto the HS reload fine overnight at the Apple Store. Apple could not
    Find any problem with the TM backup. Maybe by the third MH release will try a clean install.
    Clean install was the second upgrade try which failed too......First time an Apple new OS
    Failed since Apple][ days. Win some loose some.
     

Share This Page

12 September 28, 2018