Mojave - iCloud for Home is Turned Off? But it's not...

ericj2109

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 10, 2018
23
8
WA
Home was one of the big reasons I bravely (blindly) jumped to Mojave. Everything else seems to be working great except this one feature I really wanted. I don't know why but I can't seem to make the app connect to my iCloud account. I've tried logging out of iCloud a few times but it always says that I need to turn iCloud for Home on even when the box is checked. Don't know if it's because I'm on a 4,1->5,1 or something else. I'll peruse the HomeKit board too.

Anyone else have this issue/something to try/a fix?
 

Attachments

tsialex

macrumors 604
Jun 13, 2016
7,625
8,351
Brazil
You can login with iMessage normally? Maybe Home.app has the same hardware validations that iMessage has.
 

ericj2109

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 10, 2018
23
8
WA
iMessage syncs up... faster than I've seen in HS. I thought that Stocks wouldn't sync up either but I didn't have it enabled from my phone. After that, it pulled data. Haven't checked if there's a setting at the AppleTV which is my hub but... I doubt it. My wife and I share the controls so something is being pushed to the cloud.

Guess I'm curious to see if any other flashed 4,1 cMPs are having this issue to see if it is some sort of hardware validation that we've been excluded from.
 

ericj2109

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 10, 2018
23
8
WA
Progress: I just made a new user account on the same computer and logged into the same iCloud account with that. It all works there and I also got a bunch of notifications from apps that seemed dormant on the other primary account. I think some permissions must be messed up from the upgrade. Might just nuke the primary account and start over. Or do a fresh install... either way, good to know it's not some sort of hardware blacklist.
 

unwize

macrumors newbie
Nov 30, 2018
3
0
I'm having exactly the same issue, and have confirmed that Home app works as expected when logging into iCloud on a test account on the same Mac. I don't have the option of moving from my main account as it's a managed work device, so if anyone has another solution to this I'd love to hear it.
 

ericj2109

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 10, 2018
23
8
WA
I didn't look into a solution for very long; I upgraded my boot drive to an NVMe and did a fresh install of Mojave which worked as expected. I suspect it's permissions related but I'm not sure where to look or what to repair. Hopefully someone can give some leads.
 

unwize

macrumors newbie
Nov 30, 2018
3
0
Thanks for the update. I’ve raised it as a bug with Apple so will just have to hope they can fix in a future release.
 
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.