Momentus XT firmware update through Parallels

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Pikkuroope, Dec 20, 2010.

  1. Pikkuroope macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    #1
    Will updating that firmware bring me trouble if I do it through Parallels?
     
  2. spmiz12 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    #2
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/532.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0.5 Mobile/8B117 Safari/6531.22.7)

    I burned a bootable cd, then booted into windows and ran disk, everything went smoothly....
     
  3. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #3
    I'm not sure it will work, because you'll need direct access to the hardware and parallels does is not able to provide direct access.

    You'll need to boot into windows as opposed to doing it within parallels.
     
  4. kimbo1986 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    #4
    Why do you want to update using parallels? If your on a mac and need to update your Momentus XT you can download the image for mac on the segate website. I updated my Momentus XT firmware a few weeks ago.

    Sent from my SGH-T959
     
  5. Pikkuroope thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    #5
    I didn't say I wanted to. It just would've been faster. Thanks, I'll burn the image.
     

Share This Page