Monitor and printer calibration. I have no idea where to begin!

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Scorch07, Jun 22, 2009.

1. Scorch07 macrumors 6502

I just got Aperture and, though I've been a pretty serious photographer for a few years now, I'm starting to get more into doing actual prints and messing with RAW and thus realizing how important color correction and calibrating is. I definitely realize my MBPs screen, my external monitor, and my printer are all out of sync with each other when it comes to this. The only problem is I really have to idea where to begin to fix this. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

And before anybody even thinks the word "Search," I don't want to try to piece together random threads on calibration and attempt to figure it out; that's how lost I am.

Thanks!

2. rkdiddy macrumors 65816

rkdiddy

SEARCH - sorry couldn't resist - I hate when people say that. :p

Well the simple/short answer is to purchase a monitor calibrator - like Spyder.

Remember the quality of your monitor has A LOT to do with color accuracy. I would suggest getting a monitor with an 8-bit IPS panel.

I would start there and see how accurate your prints are coming out.

3. rkdiddy macrumors 65816

rkdiddy

Oh one other thing - if you're using a dual monitor setup (i.e. MBP and external monitor) you will want to make sure you get the calibrator that will calibrate a dual monitor setup.

:apple:

4. Scorch07 thread starter macrumors 6502

The weird thing is it used to be fine using Lightroom, to the printer anyway. It doesn't support dual monitor things, so I didn't have the issue of them being different, but they printed fine. It seemed to mainly be the blues that were affected as well. For the most part, prints are looking great, but this one lady (from my uncle's wedding) was wearing a teal/cyan shirt, and it printed out as a deep blue. I was like what the heck?

5. Brad Trent macrumors member