Monitor for 13 Macbook Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by iAlexG, Aug 11, 2009.

  1. iAlexG macrumors 6502

    iAlexG

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Location:
    Florida, Missing Britain.
    #1
    Hi, I am looking for a monitor for my 13" MBP to sit on my desk. It will be used at my main display for my mac and some gaming. I'm looking for a 20" or 22" for less than $180. 1080p? HDMI input for my mac?. Thanks in advance :D
     
  2. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    Not sure how much good HDMI will do on a computer that doesn't have it...:confused:

    Just gaming? Nothing of a professional vein? In that case, just find a cheap TN panel with a good response time.
     
  3. iAlexG thread starter macrumors 6502

    iAlexG

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Location:
    Florida, Missing Britain.
    #3
    I use my mac to watch tv shows and movies on my 40" Samsung HDTV and HDMI seems to be fine, Mini display port dvi --> DVI to HDMI adapter --> Hdmi cable.
    The monitor would be used as my MAIN display for my mac. I have a apple wireless keyboard and mouse but i just want a bigger display for when i use my macbook at home.
    Would dvi be better than hdmi?
     
  4. Matt J macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    #4
    I've got a 13" and an Acer H213H monitor, which I picked up from Future Shop for CAD$212 total (~$190 US). It's got 1920x1080 resolution like some physically larger displays and looks fine in my opinion. If you're just looking for more screen space, it's a good option.
     
  5. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #5
    Fewer conversions, so it's your call. You can just get a Mini DisplayPort-HDMI adapter, though.
     
  6. iAlexG thread starter macrumors 6502

    iAlexG

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Location:
    Florida, Missing Britain.
    #6
    Thanks, I'm currently looking at this one http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage.jsp?skuId=9183224&type=product&id=1218049006792
    Seems like a good deal
     
  7. brn2ski00 macrumors 68020

    brn2ski00

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    #7
    no, just get MDP->HDMI from Monoprice.com
     
  8. iAlexG thread starter macrumors 6502

    iAlexG

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Location:
    Florida, Missing Britain.
    #8
    i already have the cables i stated above. I was just wondering if the picture would be better with DVI direct?
     
  9. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #9
    I can't imagine that there would be a difference. Your signal is completely digital all the way through, so there shouldn't be any degradation.
     
  10. iAlexG thread starter macrumors 6502

    iAlexG

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Location:
    Florida, Missing Britain.
    #10
    Thanks, if i buy the monitor in the link above (best buy) would the input fill the screen? because when I plug in my 40" Samsung the whole screen is visible but does not fill the screen (sides blank about 2-3 inches) Sorry i cant show you a picture as I am on holiday.
     

Share This Page