Monitor for Performa 6360?

Discussion in 'Apple Collectors' started by PSG, Feb 1, 2008.

1. PSG macrumors newbie

Hi There.
    Newbie here.

-I've got an old Performa 6360.
    -the old monitor is crapping out.
    Its a Apple Multiple Scan 15 Display CRT monitor.
    The connection is a 2 row 14 prong plug.

Can I buy any new monitor and plug it in or will it blow up the computer potentially?

I still need to retrieve information from this thing.

Helps me please!!

Thanks!

Susan.

2. IJ Reilly macrumors P6

IJ Reilly

You won't blow it up but the video may not support newer displays. Your best bet is to locate an old VGA display, which you should be able to get cheaply. I just threw out a couple of them myself. Good luck!

3. macEfan macrumors 65816

macEfan

Forbidden, you do not have access to that server
    On the performa 6360, any monitor will work, (CRT or LCD) so long as you have a Mac monitor adapter like this....

[​IMG]

4. IJ Reilly macrumors P6

IJ Reilly

Why do you say that? The video card still needs to support the DPI and refresh rate of the display or you get nada.

5. macEfan macrumors 65816

macEfan

Forbidden, you do not have access to that server
    Well basically ANY monitor that is not a 9" black and white or a 24" jumbo CRT or larger....

I've used my Performa 6400 on everything from 12" Apple Basic color monitors to a 22" Mitsubishi CRT....and a 19" LCD

6. gkarris macrumors 604

gkarris

All VGA compatible Macs support the standard 640x480 @ 60Hz...

The adapters I've got most don't have DIP switches, the resolution is controlled with the System Preferences - Monitor.

The DIP switches are used when you want to tell the Mac to only default to certain resolutions - I got one with DIP switches from work that came with an old SVGA projector. You set the DIP switches to tell the Mac to default to SVGA...

7. PSG thread starter macrumors newbie

What kind of adapter?

Hi There,