monolingual

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Neil321, Feb 20, 2008.

  1. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #1
    Is this app safe to use and if so what about deleting the input menu's & architectures?

    thanks
     
  2. Mitou macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #2
    I have used it without any problems just follow the instructions. If you feel nervous about deleting something just leave it. I probably could have deleted more but so what I still saved a lot of space.
     
  3. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #3
    Don't delete architectures

    If I were you, I'd back up and then re-install your OS without languages etc, then run XSlimmer after installing apps. Longer, but better and safer.
     
  4. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #4
    Avoid architectures at all costs. Has the potential to cause major headaches that can only be solved by reinstall.

    Backup before is also a prudent move.

    To be honest I don't see how running xslimmer (not free) is safer than running monolingual they both go through applications and remove parts of them. In fact I would say xslimmer has the potential to do more damage as it is messing with the actual program rather than just stripping some language resources.

    BTW I ran both monolingual and xslimmer on my computer today no problems whatsoever, ymmv.
     
  5. kfordham281 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    #5
    I just used to to remove language files and had no problems.
     
  6. MM07 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    #6
    I successfully used monlingual as well the other day. I gained 3 gigs in HD space.

    I left the architectures alone. I thought that they'd might be important.
     
  7. Neil321 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
  8. DaveF macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    NoVA
    #8
    I successfully used Monolingual on Tiger last year with my new MBP. I only removed languages -- and I was very careful about selecting what was removed. The Monolingual defaults looked like they would have removed English and made my Mac unusable -- I don't understand its defaults, but I think you need carefully review them as they can't be trusted.

    I've not tried it since upgrading to Leopard; I didn't know if there were any incompatibilities introduced since then, as Monolingual hasn't been updated specifically for 10.5.
     
  9. Neil321 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #9
    Thanks but have now decided to not to risk things going tits up & dont want to
    go threw backing stuff up to save what might be just a couple of gb's
     
  10. DarkHeraldMage macrumors 6502a

    DarkHeraldMage

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    #10
    I used it on leopard no problem and saved a few gigs. Not a big deal to some, but on a 250 GB MBP with a 130+ GB iTunes library and a 30+ GB Parallels file, a few gigs comes to be a big deal.
     
  11. Neil321 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #11
    Yep i hear ya,but most of my stuff is on external's anyway.I was just playing
    around to see how slim i could get the OS for ha ha's thats all.
     

Share This Page