Monotouch, anybody?

Discussion in 'iOS Programming' started by Akarin, Oct 29, 2011.

1. Akarin macrumors 6502

Akarin

Hi all,

I just want to get a feel on how many of you, forum readers, are using Monotouch and what are your thoughts on it? (website here)

So far, I have been using it on and off for the past year, it has been going through many changes over time and what would typically put me off this technology is the huge lack of serious documentation & litterature about it.

For info, I'm a C# professional coder, mostly active in game development with XNA and other frameworks so when I heard there was a possibility to port my knowledge over to iOS development without the need to learn yet again a new language, I was thrilled. Unfortunately, the lack of reading material proves quite difficult to jump in it.

2. Akarin thread starter macrumors 6502

Akarin

Seeing this post has been read about 300x and no answers... ...there aren't many people in here using C# to develop iOS apps :p

3. jiminaus macrumors 65816

jiminaus

Considering the pricing of it, is it really worth it? Objective-C is not that hard, surely?

4. Simon86 macrumors member

I use C# at work, and it is a really nice language. I've also been learning objective-C.

The price of MonoTouch is a fair bit, but you have to consider how much your time is worth. I'd have to work a maximum of 10 hours to have the money to afford MonoTouch, but I've spent more than 10 hours getting familiar with XCode and Objective-C. This time saving could be really useful if you're working to a deadline.

Also the app might be part of a larger system developed in .NET - and the ability to share code throughout the system might be really useful. Using both MonoTouch and Monodroid, I could use the same core libraries on iOS, Android, and Windows Phone, and then I might even be able to use these libraries on the server too.