Monteniva release/next update

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by eddy64, Feb 26, 2008.

1. eddy64 macrumors regular

Ok so, I am currently a high school student but will be attending college this year in August. I am very excited to purchase my first mac but I seem to be in a dilemma. While I really want to get the new Macbook pro's, I would hate to see the MBP updated again (maybe in the June event) before I go to college.

I don't really need the MBP at the moment, but I would really like to have it.

Do you guys think the next update, possibly with Monteniva, will occur before August of this year? I would hate to miss out on an awesome update just because my excitement caused me to buy the notebook now. For sure though, I will have to buy a laptop before August.

Any thoughts? Thanks :)

PS I know theres the summer offer with the free Ipod, but I don't really care for that. I would rather have it now, assuming theres no update.

One more thing, I know the realease date has been discussed, but most people just say summer/fall. Is this before August? or are we looking at an october/november release? Thanks

2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

Eidorian

Fall 2008 after the back-to-school offer.

Be there.

3. aaronw1986 macrumors 68030

It won't be till after the ipod promo ends, so I'd say October earliest. Probably november is more likely.

4. Czechmac macrumors regular

I think there will be a big upgrade in MBP during the summer, maybe at WWDC. Montevina comes out in June i think, so 2-3 month of time is more than enough for apple to put it into computers, especially MBP.

I don't think we will see montevina in MB until christmas, mainly because it uses DDR3, which is a bit expensive at the moment, however I think that MBP will have montevina by September.

5. chrmjenkins macrumors 603

chrmjenkins

From the launch of penryn, it took about 2 months to get this update. There was no case redesign and the chipset is the same.