More 6870 surprises ?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Bhang, Nov 2, 2011.

1. Bhang macrumors member

OK guys ! I really really need some help here ! PLEASE !! I'm reaching the end of my rope here. I am trying everything in my power to find a fix for my display issues and things just got worse. I know I'm not supposed to get a boot screen. No big deal. BUT ( and its a huge butt :) is this also supposed to mean no screen while installing OS X ? This is not possible to do ... is it? ! I can't see a thing. I figured if I installed a fresh version of OS X that I could rule out things I did myself since installing the card. However, no screen, no install :-(

- I want my mac back

2. Loa macrumors 65816

Loa

3. Bhang thread starter macrumors member

Sorry, forgot to mention I'm on a MP 1.1 . No 64bit efi support so from what Cindori says I would need to wait for Apple to release a 32bit EFI for the 6870. I'm a newb at this so I trust what he says. I could give it a try. Probably should. As long as I b-up my rom I should be ok.
    It would still be nice to know what other people are doing in this situation. I don't know how you could get around this.
    :confused:

I haven't felt this mentally exhausted since I switched from Windows.

4. Loa macrumors 65816

Loa

Hello,

I would trust Cin on this: if he says that the Zeus tool wouldn't work for you, don't do it.

I understand your exhaustion, but you're trying to live with a card that's 5 years younger than your computer, and that is not even officially supported by Apple! You're bound to have some issues.

Loa

5. Inconsequential macrumors 68000

6. Bhang thread starter macrumors member