More bf2142 Problems

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by remorce, Jan 25, 2009.

  1. remorce macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    #1
    Bf2142 Randomly freezes up ONLY DURING MULTI PLAYER It stops the movement on screen and it loops the last audio sound heard. Running on patch 1.5 Just started today ran fine before that. I have seen PC games have this same issue but their solutions are not applicable to a mac. ALSO the only way I can exit the game is by force quitting it. Temp is not an issue I have smcFanControl and a cooling pad so I run at about 120-140F. Macbook Early 2008 Edition.
     
  2. Less Exciting macrumors newbie

    Less Exciting

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    #2
    24th Jan 2009: Mac Crash problems.

    I have posted this message on another thread regarding crashes.

    On my community forums, everyone with a mac has been reporting crashes in game within about 5 minutes. I originally thought it was probably punkbuster, but now think it may be perhaps something to do with the latest quicktime update.

    If anyone has any info regarding this, please post here. I'm going to contact evenbalance or anyone else that may be able to help and try and work it out.
     
  3. remorce thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    #3
    Thank god im not the only one! After doing some fiddling with punkbuster files i managed to get a blank punkbuster kick instead of a freeze! (Yay?) Now if I fix that...
     
  4. natty3187 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    #4
    Potential fix!

    I was in exactly the same boat! I tried updating punkbuster, but that was no good. Then I tried setting my video settings to the lowest possible settings and I was able to play a whole round with no freezing.

    Can someone else try it and see if this fixes the problem?
     
  5. natty3187 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    #5
    potential fix no good

    I went online again with the lower video settings and it froze!

    Sorry to get everyone's hopes up!

    I called apple and the told me to clear out the caches, which I did, but it hasnt helped either.

    They recommended to reinstall the game, has anyone tried this?

    Also I'm thinking that perhaps this isnt a video/driver/punkbuster problem, but perhaps something has changed on the servers that affects the way the game talks to our macs.....
     
  6. haydnw117 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    #6
    Tried a reinstall

    I've done a full re-install (including all preference files) and tried the game again. Still getting the same problem that you guys are talking about. I have posted on the mac forums at the EA forums just waiting for a response. I will post here hopefully with what they have to say about this.

    Regards,

    Haydn.
     
  7. haydnw117 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    #7
    it lives!

    I downgraded quicktime to the last version and the game seems to be working %100 now. Hopefully a fixed is released soon so we can update our quicktimes!
     
  8. remorce thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    #8
    Want to post a link of where you got the downgraded quicktime?

    Also I figured it was punkbuster b/c I can play on any server that doesnt run punkbuster!
     
  9. pprior macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    #9
    Can anyone else verify QT fixes this? Why would that matter - game doesn't use QT in any way and it's running a wine port, so PB shouldn't even see the mac files at all.

    I still can't play - kept getting dropped from squads and it's making me look like a jerk just dropping out of games right and left.
     
  10. haydnw117 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    #10
  11. remorce thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    #11
    quicktime 7.5.5 is what im already running. Btw it is also the current version.
     
  12. haydnw117 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    #12
    nope.

    It isn't on my computer. Quicktime version 7.6 is available to download through software update which is what i had when the crashes were occurring. Since i downgraded to 7.5.5 i have had 0 crashes. I don't know why version 7.6 isn't available to you. Are you sure you checked properly?
     
  13. remorce thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    #13
    Either way it doesnt matter as I am already running 7.5 and getting crashes.
    oh yeah and how do you install something if you already have a newer version?
     
  14. Less Exciting macrumors newbie

    Less Exciting

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
  15. haydnw117 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    #15
    Care to explain further?
     
  16. remorce thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    #16
    Exactly what he said. Fixed, no idea why. Just fixed.


    Although I did notice something. As I am a Camp G. Whore I see billboards all over the place. There is new billboards advertising a boxing match. Did not have those up before the issues. Issues fixed, I have the billboards. Coincidence? Im skeptical.
     

Share This Page