More Mac SE issues

Discussion in 'Apple Collectors' started by Ozfer, Jul 1, 2013.

1. Ozfer macrumors newbie

So I was going along using my mac se that I had all those issues with in my last thread and I was using my zip drive and then... blank.... and the screen went out. Yep. More issues, now my mac SE will not turn on and makes no noises when I hit the on button. No fans come on no lights come on the screen is blank and the hard drive doesn't spin. I have tried disconnecting things re-seating the memory and plugs on the inside and no matter what it will not turn on when I hit the power button :( . So maybe the power supply died... I am pretty good with electronics but I am pretty new with this old mac collecting so does anyone have any ideas on what I can do? :confused:

2. MacTech68 macrumors 68000

MacTech68

If it's not ticking or chirping, a common failure I used to see was the power switch at the back itself.

Pretty hard to find a direct replacement. I had to place a special order with C&K switches to get them.

Or, it could be the fuse inside the power supply. But that gets tricky. If the fuse has blown, it may have done so because the bridge rectifier has shorted and replacing just the fuse could do more damage to the power supply.

Did it die with a pop?

3. Ozfer thread starter macrumors newbie

No it made no noise when it died. It just kinda went blank. Also I used a multiplier with the fuse and it gets pretty accurate readings so I don't think its blown. I've been having nothing but trouble with this system since I got it :( would the power switch not working be something that instantly breaks and switches a mac off? I could try to fix it if that is what is wrong. I opened up the power supply and I don't see any obvious signs of a capacitor leaking or burning smell.

4. MacTech68 macrumors 68000

MacTech68

The switch wouldn't normally fail with that symptom.

If you take the fuse out and measure it with your multimeter, what reading do you get?