more memory better?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by clin86, Mar 5, 2008.

  1. clin86 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    #1
    will installing 4gb of ram boot OSX faster and open applications faster compared to 2gb? or does it just allow you to open more applications at one time?
    thanks
     
  2. iPhil macrumors 68040

    iPhil

    #2
    If your using PhotoShop; CS3; Aperture: type of apps then you won't see the benefits of the 4GB of Ram ..


    If your a 'simple user' : Safari; iTunes; iPhoto; type of apps then 2GB of Ram is ideal amount of ram for this time in Mac OS X schedule period.. :eek:
     
  3. clin86 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    #3
    yea but my imac takes a while to boot and someone told me 4gb of ram takes longer to boot than 2gb as the computer has to read more ram? is that true?
     
  4. bluedoggiant macrumors 68030

    bluedoggiant

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Location:
    MD & ATL,GA
    #4
    Yes, the iMac will take longer to boot, but you will get more power in the system, put your iMac to sleep when you're not using it.
     
  5. AppleFan360 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    #5
    I just upgraded my iMac from 2 to 4GB. Frankly I couldn't tell the difference in bootup time. Besides, bootup time on a Mac is nowhere near a Vista machine so no big deal.

    After throwing in 4GB, I saw an increase in video rendering speeds and a big increase while running VMWare Fusion since I was able to allocate more memory to the virtual partition.

    Other than that, very very slight increase for everything else that I have run so far although I haven't tested HD Video editing yet.
     
  6. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #6
    Think about what;s happening at boot time: The machine is checking itself out (hence a slightly longer time with more RAM) and then reading the OS & all your add-ons / startup items / Widgets from the hard drive and loading them.

    Very little of this process will be affected by the amount of RAM.

    #1 speedup is to cut down on the number of processes loaded at startup,

    #2 is the hard drive speed -- the performance of th hard drive, plus how full it is (reading from inner tracks on a full drive takes longer than from the outer tracks on a relatively empty drive.)

    I don't understand this obsession with boot times as a measure of performance.
    Unless you are a road warrior, you probably boot the machine once a day, or once a week.
    Operational performance when multitasking between programs has a far higher impact on productivity.
     
  7. AppleFan360 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    #7
    This is true. Even if bootup time is longer, the time is made up during productivity since overall performance is faster.
     
  8. clyde2801 macrumors 601

    clyde2801

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Location:
    In the land of no hills and red dirt.
    #8
    parallels or not parallels, THAT is the question

    got a c2d white imac, 2.16. had 2 gigs in it, and it ran slow and sloppy while i had parallels 3.0 running. activity monitor showed i only had 3mb of ram left!

    went to the 3 gig maximum, and the difference is night and day. not only does parallels run more smoothly, I can actually still do stuff in osx on the mother monitor at the same time now. activity monitor shows i still have a little under a gig of ram left.

    i can't explain it, i can only report it.
     
  9. srl7741 macrumors 68020

    srl7741

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Location:
    In my world
    #9
    I just installed 4GB of ram in my iMac 2 days ago and I did not notice a difference in the boot time either. I did notice right away the apps open much faster and pages load much faster in Safari. Everything seems to load quicker and it was well worth the $80 for the additional ram.
     
  10. AppleFan360 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    #10
    Agree. I have also noticed Safari runs better but I didn't want to say anything. Every time I do, I get stomped on for imagining it. There are some around here that believe that more memory has no effect on Safari speeds. :p :)
     
  11. clyde2801 macrumors 601

    clyde2801

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Location:
    In the land of no hills and red dirt.
    #11
    Don't forget parallels

    Sorry, but there's a macro program that I HAVE to use with word perfect, which is a windows only program....boo!

    C2D 2.16 ghz white imac, 20" with 2 gig of ram was taken over entirely by parallels. Thin green line left on activity monitor. OSX applications ran slowly. Beach ball party time!

    Went to 3 gig ram, and what a difference that 3rd gig made! Parallels has all the ram it wants, and I can open whatever the #$#^ I want to in OSX with no penalty.

    Ram is dirt cheap for the imac now. Best buy has 2 gig sticks for 66 bucks on sale this week, so why not 'cram the ram'? If I had an aluminum imac, I can tell you without hesitation that I'd be putting in two 2 gig sticks without a moment's hesitation.
     
  12. WardC macrumors 68030

    WardC

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    #12
    The iMac will take longer to boot because it does a system RAM check as part of the startup sequence. This check is longer depending on how much RAM you have. After this is done, your startup will zip along faster than normal (if you have 2GB)

    RAM is so cheap now, that I can't see why you wouldn't spend the $100 (avg what 4GB will cost you) to upgrade to the max 4GB on the iMac or MacBook/MacBook Pro. I have 4GB in my 20" 2GHz iMac aluminum and in my 15" 2.4GHz MBP, and I have 2GB installed on my old white 1.83 Core Duo MacBook.

    RAM is always a good thing to have, basically. You will see speed improvements (drastic speed improvements) moving from 1GB to 2GB. There is a bit more improvement to be had at the 3GB mark. You won't see much OS speed improvement between 3GB and 4GB, but it's still not a dumb thing to up your Mac to 4GB if you can -- you can load alot more apps at once, multitask better, and those RAM intensive graphics apps will love the additional RAM.

    -Ward
     
  13. cloudnine macrumors 6502a

    cloudnine

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #13
    WordPerfect? I think baby Jesus just threw up in his mouth a little :( :p Please tell me that there's some weird, completely rational explanation for having to use WP as opposed to anything else? hehe...
     
  14. thejadedmonkey macrumors 604

    thejadedmonkey

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Location:
    Pa
    #14
    Like the first respondant said, if you use pro level apps, the extra 2 gigs of RAM isn't going to be enough, and if you're using consumer level apps, 2 gigs is fine. I run 1.5 gigs, up from 1 gig (stock) and I noticed a difference.. and for the $7.50 I paid for the ram, who could complain? But seriously, if you're getting so worked up over how many milliseconds it takes to open iTunes, then you have bigger things to worry about then how much RAM your iMac needs.
     
  15. jmcw73 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Location:
    Kilmacolm, Renfrewshire, Scotland
    #15
    What RAM in the UK ?????

    Can anyone offer any advice as to what ram to upgrade with, I was looking at the crucial make and would like to know if anyone has tried it ?

    Kinda worried as to how cheap it is.

    Cheers
     
  16. AppleFan360 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    #16
    OWC (http://www.macsales.com). Works great and good prices.
     
  17. godmachine12 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    #17

    I'll second that. Advance lifetime replacement warranty and the prices are great. Unless you use your iMac for nearly nothing, you will feel a difference with 4 gigs. I put 4 in mine, up from 1, and it was night and day. I notice it more when I'm running multiple programs, but whoever said Safari is faster on its own was spot on. You open it up and the pages just snap open. It's great!
     

Share This Page