more memory for old Macbook?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by wannabeartist, Dec 4, 2011.

  1. wannabeartist macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Location:
    Finland
    #1
    Hello,

    I wonder if it's possible to install more than 2GB on an "old" Macbook?

    Precisely, my Macbook says:

    Model Name: MacBook
    Model Identifier: MacBook5,2
    Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
    Processor Speed: 2.13 GHz
    Number Of Processors: 1
    Total Number Of Cores: 2
    L2 Cache: 3 MB
    Memory: 2 GB
    Bus Speed: 1.07 GHz

    And I did find a table from Wikipedia (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Macbook) saying a 5,2 should accept 4GB, but I'm a little confused as it's titled "mid 2009" - I did buy mine around that time, but the copyright text in the bottom of the Macbook says 2007 - so what's the deal?

    Thanks!
     
  2. stridemat Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #2
  3. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #3
    the copyright likely just refers to the copyright of the design, which is the same as it was in 2007. You can put 4GB in it.
     
  4. logana macrumors 65816

    logana

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #5
    5,2 will according to Apple support 4GB. It will actually support 6GB (2GB + 4GB) and works fine.

    If you have a 2.13GHz then you have a mid-2009

    The later versions of the MacBook 5,2 with the 2.13GHz processor appear to work with 8GB - there was a thread on here (MacBook forum) a few months ago so should be easy to find.....
     
  5. wannabeartist, Dec 4, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2011

    wannabeartist thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Location:
    Finland
    #6
    Thank you so much for your super-fast answers! :)

    One more thing: the Wikipedia page says:

    "Expandable to 4 GB 800 Mhz PC2-6400"

    I suppose it has to be DDR2, does the speed also need to match the 800Mhz?

    DDR2 seems to be a little hard to find, but I guess I can still order it from somewhere.

    EDIT: Found it - and ordered :)
     

Share This Page