More powerful laptops more reliable?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by kbearh, Mar 30, 2014.

1. kbearh macrumors newbie

Hey guys, I'm currently deciding between the mid-range 13 inch Macbook Pro Retina (for 1,600) and low end 15 inch Macbook pro retina (for 2,000), and I was wondering if a computer's overall power has anything to do with its expected reliability? I've been searching around online for a while and can't seem to find a definitive answer.

First and foremost, I'm looking for a laptop that will likely last as long as possible (hopefully, at least 5-6 years). The 15 inch is honestly, more power than I probably need (mostly just take class notes, do research, video streaming, VERY light gaming, and occasional Photoshop). But my computer is being subsidized through my college (up to $1,600) so I'm willing to pay an extra $400 if that would mean its more likely to last me until the end of law school (I'm a junior in undergrad now).

So, if I shelled out a bit extra for a computer capable of more than I use it for, does that generally lead to a longer overall lifespan? Any opinions would be helpful, thanks.

2. leman macrumors 604

More powerful laptops are not more reliable. I advice you to get the warranty extension so that you can have 3 worry free years, after that its more or less a gamble. Some machines break down after 3 years, some last over 10. Not much you can do there, except make sure that the energy is 'clean' and there is not too much dusk/smoke etc. near your computer.

The 15" is a quad core, which is obviously a more capable machine. In few years time, it is likely to cope with software better than a dual-core 13". That said, I expect single-threaded performance still to be most important for tasks like word processing within the next few years, and the 13" is not that much different in that aspect from the 15"...