More RAM or SSD?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by tarsierspectral, Aug 28, 2010.

  1. tarsierspectral macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    #1
    My MP arrived yesterday, and I want to do one more upgrade to it. I can only afford one upgrade. What will I be better off with more RAM or SSD? Currently I have 10GB of RAM. I am running Photoshop and Final Cut Pro. Also, what do you guys think about this SSD
    Thanks
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
    Take a look at your page outs. 10GB should be sufficient and the HD is the biggest bottleneck. I would get this instead because it's newer than Vertex 1 and comes with SandForce controller which is currently the best one on the market.
     
  3. tarsierspectral thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    #3
    Thanks Hellhammer. I was dumb and should have asked for advice sooner. I waited 2 weeks for my MP and now I will have to wait for the drive. I wish I could just pick one up in a retail store.
    Thanks for the advice. Is there any other brand you would recommend? How are the Corsair SSDs? Microcenter seems to have some in stock I could pick up today.
    How is this drive?
    Thanks again
     
  4. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #4
    Which Corsair are you talking about? Force series uses the same SandForce controller so it's basically the same as OCZ Vertex 2 though the firmware is different (better in OCZ I think).
     
  5. tarsierspectral thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    #5
    OK, what do you think about these drives:
    drive 1
    drive 2
    drive 3
    drive 4

    thanks
     
  6. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #6
    None of them has SandForce controller so I would still get the OCZ or if you want to buy from MicroCenter, get this, it uses SF controller.
     
  7. johnnymg macrumors 65816

    johnnymg

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    #7
    10GB is fine for your apps.

    I'd recommend the OWC Extreme 120 or the Crucial C300 128. The best price on the Crucial is from BHphoto......... I've been very satisfied with the C300.

    cheers
    JohnG
     
  8. tarsierspectral thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    #8
    Thanks. What am I sacrificing by getting this drive over the OCZ one?
     
  9. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #9
    43$, nothing more really. Might be some differences in firmwares but I wouldn't say that's crucial. In Anandtech benchmark, they are almost identical
     
  10. tarsierspectral thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    #10
    thanks. I am going to pick it up. Do I need anything else in order to fit the new drive in my MP hex? Any cable, bracket?
     
  11. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #11
    Icy Dock for example
     
  12. tarsierspectral thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    #12
    Can I still install my SSD without it?
     
  13. tarsierspectral thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    #13
    one more question, how does that corsair SSD compare with this?
     
  14. johnnymg macrumors 65816

    johnnymg

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    #14
  15. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #15
    Not sure about that, I would get Icy Dock so you won't have issues

    They use the same controller so again, the only difference is the firmware. OWC SSDs are fairly popular among Mac users so it's a good buy
     
  16. SeanDL macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    #16
    Do all of the Vertex 2 drives use the SandForce controller or only select models? It's a lot cheaper to buy an OCZ model here in Canada then order one from OWC in the US.
     
  17. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #17
    Yes, all Vertex 2s use SandForce controller. Normal Vertex 2 uses SF-1200 while Vertex 2 Pro uses SF-1500 controller
     
  18. Honumaui macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    #18
    for PS work CS5 is a must with more memory so depending on version of PS that is the first thing to get

    part depends on the file sizes you are working with ? if 10 is enough ?

    you can check the efficiency in the lower left of the PS document ? that can help you out some also if its below %100 you are hitting scratch !
     
  19. CaoCao macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    #19
    IMO RAM because SSD prices keep dropping
     
  20. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #20
    So do RAM prices. Maybe not as aggressively as SSD prices but they are still dropping
     
  21. mangrove macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Location:
    FL, USA
    #21
    I have 8 OWC SSD. They work great and have Sandforce 1200 controller. Based on many reviews, they hold up better than others.

    You must remember due to the fact OWC only ships these from the US, many in Europe do not own them since they have customs duties and international freight bills to pay in additional to the SSD's.

    Thus, they know SSD's that are more widely distributed. Read Mac Performance Guide (a real MP user) about them.

    http://macperformanceguide.com/Mac-SettingUpYourMac.html

    This one of many articles he wrote about using his MP and SSD.
     
  22. phpmaven macrumors 68040

    phpmaven

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Location:
    San Clemente, CA USA
    #22
    You will notice little difference by adding more RAM but a phenomenal performance gain by adding a SSD drive.
     
  23. kultschar macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    #23
    Which is the preferred OCZ Vertex? Im getting confused with diff models, im looking at 120GB
     
  24. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #24
    OCZ Vertex 2, for example this
     
  25. mangrove macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Location:
    FL, USA
    #25
    Agree, unless RAM is under 4GB.
     

Share This Page