More RAM?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by fireshot91, Aug 24, 2009.

  1. fireshot91 macrumors 601

    fireshot91

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    Northern VA
    #1
    How much is the level of getting more RAM?

    My Page ins and Page Outs is

    540mb/0bytes.

    Free is 1.72GB, wired is 330mb, Active is 860mb, inactive 112mb, and about 1.3GB Used


    This is just with Firefox and iChat, as well as my Wireless card's application/driver thing.
     
  2. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #2
    Everything looks fine. You don't need more RAM with those numbers.
     
  3. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #3
    More than half your RAM is free at the moment. You have enough RAM.
     
  4. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #4
    If you are thinking about doing 30 tabs in Safari, 1GB of images open in photoshop, spreadksheets, database, another browser etc. open, then you need more ram.

    If you want to do virtual machines then it helps to have more ram too.

    Otherwise you are ok because your page out is 0.
     
  5. MacKiddyWiddy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    #5
    your ram is fine my friend, there is little need for you to have more unless you get into video/ photo editing or something that needs rendering or virtualised
     

Share This Page