More screen space by making things smaller?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by PowerFullMac, Sep 28, 2008.

  1. PowerFullMac macrumors 601

    PowerFullMac

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    #1
    On one of the MacBooks in the Apple Store, the text and windows where smaller so where was more space for stuff... At first I thought the resolution had been messed with but I cant find any way to get bigger resolution in Displays settings.

    Anyone know how to do it on my MacBook?

    Thanks in advance! :)
     
  2. iMacmatician macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    #2
    Was the resolution independence changed to something less than 1.0x?
     
  3. PowerFullMac thread starter macrumors 601

    PowerFullMac

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    #3
    Not sure, but on my MacBook I get this and I cant make the resolution larger.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. adisor19 macrumors member

    adisor19

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    #4
    Umm, that's because 1280 x 800 is the max resolution on your MacBook.

    Adi
     
  5. PowerFullMac thread starter macrumors 601

    PowerFullMac

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    #5
    So theres no way I can get a bigger resolution? None at all?
     
  6. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #6
    The resolution independence setting mentioned in an earlier post can only be tweaked via Quartz Debug right now, which is part of the developer tools.
     
  7. pointycollars macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Location:
    Cincinnati
    #7
    Unless you can magically add pixels to your display :p
     
  8. PowerFullMac thread starter macrumors 601

    PowerFullMac

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    #8
    I got developer tools installed, just tell me what to do! :)
     
  9. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #9
    Open your HD, then Developer. Find Quartz Debug in there - it's probably in Applications.

    This guide explains how to tweak the resolution multiplier.
     
  10. PowerFullMac thread starter macrumors 601

    PowerFullMac

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    #10
    Thanks, I'll check it out later! :)

    EDIT: It says you need OS X Tiger, will it work on my Leopard?
     
  11. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #11
    Tiger or later is required, so yes, it will work.
     
  12. PowerFullMac thread starter macrumors 601

    PowerFullMac

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    #12
    Cool, thanks! :)
     
  13. PowerFullMac thread starter macrumors 601

    PowerFullMac

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    #13
    Dosent work to make anything smaller, makes stuff a lot bigger, though!
     
  14. Angeluis macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2015
    #14
    Hi! I'm not really sure about your Mac specs but try this.
    Go to the apple icon -> System Preferences -> Displays
    Select "Resolution" to "scale" and then you should have some different scales (sizes).
     
  15. Fille macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
  16. Angeluis macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2015
    #16
    That's it! Now what you only have to do it's select the square that have in its bottom "more space". And there you go.
     

Share This Page