More Space Display still Retina?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by krzkrzkrz, Jan 3, 2015.

1. krzkrzkrz macrumors member

System Preferences - Display - Scaled - More Space (Looks like 1920 x 1200)

It also says: "Using a scaled resolution may affect performance". In what way? More resources as opposed to selecting the Best for Display option?

Will battery life be affected? i.e. consume more?

I actually prefer the More Space option since I have more real estate in terms of space availability. I am a web developer. I have more visibility in the code in my editor.

Im also wondering. Is the More Space option still Retina?

2. Freyqq macrumors 601

The way apple does scaling, double the pixels are rendered and then downscaled to fit the screen. So, best for retina is 1440x900 doubled to 2880x1800, which also happens to be the same amount of pixels on the 15" retina screen.

1920x1200 is rendered at 3840x2400, which is more pixels than the screen. So it is downscaled to 2880x1800. The computer has to work harder bc it is rendering more pixels.

Both are retina, just the computer has to render more pixels at higher scaled resolutions.

I use the 1920x1200 retina res too, and it is fine.

3. leman macrumors G3

When using a scaled resolution, the system needs to do more work (more pixels to draw), require more memory and also perform an extra rescaling step. This can obviously reduce performance (e.g. result in an perceived lag, stuttering etc.). It will also trivially affect battery life, as the GPU needs to do more work. However, so far I am not aware of anyone quantifying the difference. It is certainly negligible in most situations. So you should use the resolution you feel most comfortable with.