Most Consecutive hours one can work?

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by BigPrince, Dec 28, 2007.

1. BigPrince macrumors 68020

My record for most consecutive hours worked in a day is 18 hours.

My question is what is the most consecutive hours one can work legally when not operating any machinery.

I work in IT. My work is having a major project over Martin Luther King Day weekend. Its going to be very tough to get accomplished over that three day period. MLK is a triple time holiday for us, so I want to work all 24 hours that day. Sunday is double time, so I want to work 18-24 hours that day as well.

I am looking to do at least 36 hours consecutive hours with the breakfast, lunch and dinner breaks.

I looked around but cannot find anything relevant to max hours.

2. termina3 macrumors 65816

To my knowledge, there are no laws preventing you from working super-overtime so long as it does not have the potential to harm others (truck drivers come to mind). That is, as long as you are being paid overtime.

Of course, I'd think the quality of work would degrade, but you know better than I.

3. BigPrince thread starter macrumors 68020

Ya, I am crazy. We have to move 14 computer labs (25-30 computers each) located in two buildings on different floors to a new building with different floors with one elevator in each building. And the one building does not have a paved path to the other. We then have to have them powered, networked, and cable managed.

So while the work may slow down, this is more like manual then mind using.

Plus its hard to get triple time holidays approved. So I am excited.

4. sushi Moderator emeritus

sushi

That ^^ does not sound like fun at all -- even with the overtime pay.

5. BigPrince thread starter macrumors 68020

I have some pretty cool co-workers and we have an awesome dynamic. We will be cracking jokes all night long to keep us going.

6. termina3 macrumors 65816

I hope you're being well paid. Like $100+/hr well paid.