Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

chiggywawa

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 2, 2008
Los Angeles, CA
Wondering if anyone can offer their expertise on this subject.
I'm a videographer and my workflow includes Final Cut Pro X, Compressor, Adobe Encore, and a handful of post applications (Magic Bullet, CrumplePop plugins, etc.)
What hardware specs most influence rendering times? Is it the CPU, the amount of RAM, the graphics card? Are they all equal in importance for video work, or is one more crucial to have than the other?
I'm currently running on a couple-years-old MacBook Pro that's starting to lag quite a bit and looking to upgrade, but want to make sure I'm putting my money towards the specs that matter most for my work.

KaraH

macrumors 6502
Nov 12, 2012
DC
Wondering if anyone can offer their expertise on this subject.
I'm a videographer and my workflow includes Final Cut Pro X, Compressor, Adobe Encore, and a handful of post applications (Magic Bullet, CrumplePop plugins, etc.)
What hardware specs most influence rendering times? Is it the CPU, the amount of RAM, the graphics card? Are they all equal in importance for video work, or is one more crucial to have than the other?
I'm currently running on a couple-years-old MacBook Pro that's starting to lag quite a bit and looking to upgrade, but want to make sure I'm putting my money towards the specs that matter most for my work.

All are important. If I only had to pick one I would lean towards the graphics card since it has vram but the cpu influences the computation time.

talmy

macrumors 601
Oct 26, 2009
Oregon
FCPX and Compressor here. For me the bottleneck is rendering time, and since it hits all my processing cores at 100% I'd say the CPU is most important. For certain, get the i7.

joema2

macrumors 68000
Sep 3, 2013