Motion 3 problem

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by dougomite, Feb 10, 2010.

1. dougomite macrumors newbie

I have a Mac Pro with 10 gb memory Quad-Core Intel Xeon, NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT. I am an editor for weddings and family projects, who is starting to livin up my projects with motion. I don't have a speed problem using motion, but when I drag a motion file into FCP, the program is exremely slow and gives me the spinball. I never get this problem using FCP with tons of filters and layers. I recently dragged one title into fcp and could barely edit a 10 minute project. Also it took 30 minutes to render! Is there something I need to upgrade to make motion run more smooth? i am worried about adding multiple motion files, which I was intending to do.
    Thanks

2. Digital Skunk macrumors 604

Digital Skunk

I would make sure you Motion project setting match your sequence settings in FCP.

3. bigbossbmb macrumors 68000

bigbossbmb

it is both easier and more reliable to simply export a QT that matches your FCP sequence settings than nesting a Motion project in your sequence...

4. Paratel macrumors 6502

Paratel

Yeah that is what I usually do. I export a QT movie and then import it into my FCP project.

5. dougomite thread starter macrumors newbie

Oh great advice. Didn't realize you could export QT in Motion, I am a Motion newbie. Thanks for the advice.:eek:

6. sirN macrumors newbie

Doug, have you created any decent photo drop zone templates? I see people selling them and it just seems much easier to make my own. Got any good ones yet?

7. martinX macrumors 6502a

martinX

I'm just starting out in Motion so I think I am giving you the right advice...

The easiest way to get Motion projects in the FCP timeline is to insert the actual Motion project but the Motion sequence settings have to match the FCP sequence settings.