Motion graphics and video work?

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by Soura2112, Aug 17, 2011.

1. Soura2112 macrumors 6502

Hi all,

I am kinda new to using/learning motion graphics to my video work. I'm going to pick up the Switch package from adobe, though I'm not going to fully leave Final Cut, it's the switch price I can't ignore. I just want to add some flare to my editing and videos I create.

I just enrolled in a motion graphics class at my local community college, and so far it's going way beyond what I do, cause I don't really do comlicated special effects nor make those types of videos. First day were working in Maya, which is very cool, but to expensive for my needs, nor do I have time to go to the labs (I already have my bachelors degree, so this is just to learn). The catalog said "using Adobe After Effects", which is all I want to learn, and take Motion further, sadly not using Motion. So the course description is a bit of a tease.

I wanted to know before I drop the class if there are good websites to teach AE, then I can compare prices, see what's best for me. If I was in college this would be a great class and since I don't really care about my grade I would rather give my spot to a younger student (not that anyone tried to get in yet).

2. baddseed macrumors newbie

3. cgbier macrumors 6502a

Check Videocopilot. He has a ton of AE tutorials.
    Isn't there a free/light version of Maya for learning purposes?

4. faustfire macrumors 6502a

faustfire

5. chrono1081 macrumors 604

chrono1081

I second this book. I just got it and while I didn't work through it, I read through it and it has extensive coverage in it.

Its very easy to follow, very well written, and shows you all kinds of techniques and lets you learn after effects from the ground up instead of some tutorials that will throw you into the fray, tell you to use things like the pick whip but not explain what they do.

This book covers it all.