Mountain Lion and Existing Games

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Dirtyharry50, Jul 8, 2012.

  1. Dirtyharry50 macrumors 68000

    Dirtyharry50

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    #1
    I wonder if Mountain Lion is going to be okay with people's existing libraries of games or if there will be compatibility issues.

    Personally, I am not planning to plunge right into this upgrade. I'll wait and see how the reports from the pioneers come in.
     
  2. charlieegan3 macrumors 68020

    charlieegan3

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Location:
    U.K
    #2
    I should think apple will have at least thought about it. My guess would be that most game work from day 1.
     
  3. doh123 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #3
    it depends how the game is made... any program, game or otherwise, may break, but the vast majority of software will continue to run fine.
     
  4. edddeduck macrumors 68020

    edddeduck

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    #4
    So far in our testing everything from Feral that runs and is supported in Lion runs in Mountain Lion. Anything that develops a weird side effect we will patch as needed.

    Edwin
     
  5. Dirtyharry50 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Dirtyharry50

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    #5
    That's great to know thanks! I just bought a new Feral title each day of the recent sale on the Mac App Store. :D
     
  6. mrmarts macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
    #6
    That's great news as I just got bioshock 2, borderlands and mini ninjas from your company I hope my other games like quake 4 will run on mountain lion
     
  7. edddeduck macrumors 68020

    edddeduck

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    #7
    We are off testing Mountain Lion GM Seed to make sure everything is still OK. If we notice anything we will let peeps know.

    Edwin
     
  8. Dirtyharry50 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Dirtyharry50

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    #8
    You guys rock. :D
     
  9. doh123 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #9
    I've been running the 10.8 GM as my main OS for a day and a half now and I haven't had a problem with any app or game yet actually running. I don't expect any major issues.
     
  10. Miharu macrumors 6502

    Miharu

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Location:
    Finland
    #10
    I would guess that the only possible issue would be Gatekeeper.
     
  11. doh123 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #11
    Gatekeeper is not a problem, just annoying. If the app was already on your machine and ran before upgrading, it still works normally. On new apps that are unsigned, all you have to do is right click, press open, then yes to confirm opening. After that it'll keep working fine.
     
  12. edddeduck macrumors 68020

    edddeduck

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    #12
    Borderlands and Dirt 2 runs slightly slower on Mountain Lion, Apple, Nvidia and AMD know about the issue and we expect the first OS Patch to restore the game.

    Borderlands also got a patch today. Here are the highlights.

    • Adds support for additional game controllers (about 30+).
    • Improves performance on HD3000 graphics card.
    • Adds zoom toggle option for magic mouse and trackpad users.
    • Adds increased cursor control (mouse smoothing) option.

    Edwin
     
  13. iMacFarlane macrumors 65816

    iMacFarlane

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Location:
    Adrift in a sea of possibilities
    #13
    Hey, sorry to keep bugging you!

    Given the relatively small spread of Apple computers, how feasible would it be for you guys to post a matrix of expected performance (FPS) for each of your games as run on each stock MBA/MBP/rMBP/iMac/MacMini? Obviously as people upgraded their Macs performance would be better, but it would definitely help in the decision to buy a certain title or not.

    I dropped about $30 on the recent Steam sale, but ended up getting 10 games for that! Some run great, some run okay, some require dropping the options down, but for those prices, don't care.

    I'm just saying, before I spend $30-$50 on one game, I'd really like to know if it will run acceptably on my computer.

    For instance, :)o), how does Borderlands GOTY run on the 4000HD iGPU in the 13" base 2012 MBP?

    Thanks!
     
  14. koolmagicguy macrumors 6502

    koolmagicguy

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Location:
    New York
    #14
    Mountain Lion added new apps, new iCloud integration, Safari 6 and a lot of other features/tweaks. But they didn't change the system architecture so everything still works.
     
  15. edddeduck macrumors 68020

    edddeduck

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    #15
    Per model is not that possible as every type of Mac has many years of models and usually it is the age of the model combined with the type and upgrade status that is the factor. A matrix works in two scales but you will need three scales to cover Mac model, game name and Mac specification. Which we could display as some sort of cube when 3D projection comes along.

    This is why we have a system spec list for every game. If your Mac meets the min spec you will get a smooth gameplay experience at minimum settings or better.

    If you meet recommended specification you will be able to play on Medium/High to Maximum settings with the same smooth experience.

    We are however always looking at better ways of displaying information and it is something we are thinking about.

    Edwin

    p.s. Borderlands plays well on the HD4000. You can't play with everything on Max settings but on the 11" MacBookAir (2Ghz model) it was very close!
     
  16. iMacFarlane macrumors 65816

    iMacFarlane

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Location:
    Adrift in a sea of possibilities
    #16
    Then we'd need to hire Tom Cruise to fling irrelevant data out of our way when we tried to interface with it. :p

    Fantastic, it's a done deal then. You guys are the best. :)

    One issue you may not have had feedback on:
    An older demo you have on the site for Ford Racing. I tried playing it on my MBP, and after a few minutes, the display splits into two images, overlaying each other. One image is static, and has a green/purple palette, the other is dynamically updating properly along with the game, normal palette. They strobe, in a way. Not sure if this is Mountain Lion, 4000HD iGPU, or something else. Just FYI.
     
  17. edddeduck macrumors 68020

    edddeduck

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    #17
    It's a problem with the demo and digital signing. It sometimes thinks it is not signed correctly. This does not effect the main game.

    Thanks for letting us know.

    Edwin
     
  18. iMacFarlane macrumors 65816

    iMacFarlane

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Location:
    Adrift in a sea of possibilities
    #18
    Wow, that's odd behaviour for a signing issue! But, you're all over it already, so no worries. Have a great day!
     
  19. edddeduck macrumors 68020

    edddeduck

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    #19
    Just FYI if you are interested we have had code integrity checks long before the Apple method came to pass (although Apple's is more integrated with the OS).

    This demo was a PPC game originally and the Intel native demo patch seems to have a niggle in it with our code signing checks on some machines.

    Edwin
     

Share This Page