Mountain Lion and Medtronic Carelink

Discussion in 'OS X Mountain Lion (10.8)' started by zerolight, Aug 25, 2012.

  1. zerolight macrumors 6502

    zerolight

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Location:
    Glasgow
    #1
    So I thought I'd share this as I've just gotten this to work - my 7yo son is getting his pump fitted on Tues and we have it at home so I can experience what his life will soon be like, always connected.

    Anyway - as usual, the medtronic site checks the OSX version a refuses to let the pump connect to 10.8 - only allowing support for 10.7 or less. I gather it took close to a year before they let 10.7 on.

    Anyway, you can bypass this needless limitation by enabling the develop menu in Safari, then going to user agent and choosing Safari 6, Mac. Initially I still failed to get the applet to load, until I noticed a dialog box to confirm I wanted to allow the applet to run was behind my browser window. Anyway, that's all you need for you pumpers wanting to keep carelink and Mountain Lion.
     
  2. btbrossard macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #2
    I don't use Carelink (I have an Accu-Chek Pump), but I can say switching to an insulin pump was long overdue for me.

    I was diagnosed with T1 diabetes relatively late (early 20's) and held off on getting an insulin pump for years - doing MDI 6+ times a day.

    Having an insulin pump, although it is always connected, makes managing diabetes easier and the control I get from it is well worth the effort.

    Also of benefit is not having to use syringes out in public.

    Good luck to you and your son.
     
  3. zerolight thread starter macrumors 6502

    zerolight

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Location:
    Glasgow
  4. joe999w macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013
    #4
    Medtronic CareLink and OS X Mavericks

    Just an update to this thread...the CareLink website is exhibiting the same behavior if you upgrade to OS X 10.9 (Mavericks). It says that you are not on a supported system, blah, blah, blah. As before, using the developer menu and a user agent of Safari 6.1 solves that issue. With that figured out, I've run into a different problem though. Either, (a) Mavericks does not detect the wireless USB dongle that communicates with the pump or (b) the CareLink website is stupid and refuses to recognize USB devices from any OS above 10.8. My guess is the latter. Anyone else run into this?
     
  5. zerolight thread starter macrumors 6502

    zerolight

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Location:
    Glasgow
    #5
    Same here. The dongle shows up under the USB devices as "Composite Device" which clearly Carelink is not expecting.
     
  6. mikemadden macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2013
    #6
    Having the same problem. I recall having similar issues after one of the previous system upgrades, and it was only fixed when a new version of Java was pushed out. But if anyone has a better idea for how to get it to work, that'd be helpful.

    For what it's worth: I have one of the Contour NextLink devices that can also be used to upload pump data (it can talk to the pump and also plugs in by USB, though I don't use it as a meter), and that isn't working under Mavericks, either.
     
  7. Arlenie macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2013
    #7
    Mavericks and Medtronic Carelink

    This thread is quite old but as far as I know the problem persists. I was able to work around it by running Firefox v.25 with a User Agent using Firefox 24 for Windows (on my iMac) and it worked until I foolishly upgraded Firefox and now it no longer works. According to Medtronic each Carelink upgrade has to be approved by the FDA. I had to dig up an old Windows netbook to upload my pump data. If anyone has figured out a workaround please post it.

    :(
     
  8. mikemadden macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2013
    #8
    I had cloned my 10.8.5 system on an external hard drive and was able to boot from that to upload -- hoping they fix soon, no other workaround that I know of. In 10.9, the Mac doesn't seem to recognize the Carelink device as being plugged in...
     
  9. Alice300 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2014
    #9
    I have OS X 10.9.4 and have had this problem of getting Carelink to be recognised.
    On the phone they said because both my USB ports were 3.0 it wouldn't work because the Carelink USB is only compatible with 2.0 ports.

    So I bought a 2.0 USB hub ($20) which plugged into my Mac's USB port and it worked. Super easy and problem is sorted.
     
  10. JasperBedford macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia

Share This Page