Mountain Lion and Windows for PPC

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by rabidz7, Jan 15, 2013.

  1. rabidz7 macrumors 65816

    rabidz7

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    Location:
    Ohio
    #1
    I just found this app that should be able to run mountain lion and intel only apps on PowerPC.
    I am not 100% sure if this will work, but I am going to try it within a few days.
     
  2. ybz90 macrumors 6502a

    ybz90

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    #3
    This sounds too good to be true unfortunately. :/ It'd have to be some kind of emulation, and would likely have poor performance.

    But maybe I just have no imagination. :)
     
  3. bwt89 macrumors newbie

    bwt89

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2012
    Location:
    Lille, France
  4. AdrianK macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    #5
    Judging from past events, I just know this is going to be good. My guess would be Darwine.
     
  5. Goftrey macrumors 68000

    Goftrey

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Wales, UK
  6. Lil Chillbil macrumors 65816

    Lil Chillbil

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Location:
    California
    #7
    I don't even want to run mountain lion on intel machines what makes you think I would want to run it on my powerpc machines
     
  7. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #8
    Yeah, I'm wondering too.

    Come in, drop something like that, no link, no mention of the app name. What are we all supposed to think?
     
  8. ppcfanforever1 macrumors regular

    ppcfanforever1

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
  9. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #10
    So this thread isn't for you ;)

    I'd love to run Mountain Lion and Silverlight on my Clamshell :p :D
    I'm holding my breath to hear what's the miraculous app...
     
  10. thorns macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
  11. cocacolakid macrumors 65816

    cocacolakid

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Location:
    Chicago
    #13
    We have a winner!
     
  12. seveej macrumors 6502a

    seveej

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Location:
    Helsinki, Finland
    #14
    I once had this program (we did not call them apps back then), which let me run Windows 98 (and more importantly: all my favorite games) on my Powermac G3. compared to the 486 box I had at that time, the virtualized windows worked really nice and smooth.

    But like some others here: I'd rather run leopard (snow or regular) on my i7 MBP than Mountain Lion (even Lion's a pain).

    RGDS,
     
  13. rjcalifornia macrumors 6502a

    rjcalifornia

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Location:
    El Salvador
    #15
    Also, it will bring back 'Chuck', CSI Miami, Dexter's Lab, Megas XLR, Samurai Jack and Farscape back on TV

    No, seriously, this can't be done. Mountain Lion will never never never run on a PowerPC mac without emulation.
     
  14. rabidz7 thread starter macrumors 65816

    rabidz7

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    Location:
    Ohio
    #16
    It is an emulator.
    http://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/20830/q-emulator

    ----------

    http://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/20830/q-emulator

    ----------

    http://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/20830/q-emulator

    ----------

    http://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/20830/q-emulator
     
  15. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #17
    OK. So thanks for finally naming the app. But you do realize that the Q-emulator has been around for a few years right?

    And then there is VirtualPC 7 made by Microsoft. That's been around a few years. VPC was originally made by Connectix and they were doing this back during OS9 days before OSX.

    Right now I'm running Win7 Ultimate on my 1Ghz PowerBook G4 using VPC7.

    Thanks again though.
     
  16. rabidz7 thread starter macrumors 65816

    rabidz7

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    Location:
    Ohio
    #18
    But can it run mac osx?
     
  17. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #19
    I would think so. You are essentially talking about a Hackintosh, but just using an emulator.

    That's just going to be so glacially slow and fraught with problems that I've never let it get past the potentiality stage. It's possible, just not something I want to undertake.

    Unless you have a link to someone who's managed to do this easily?
     
  18. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #20
    No it can't. Q doesn't provide the proper things for a Mac OS X system. If it did, it would run Intell 10.4.X extremely slowly and 10.8.X would take days too boot.
     
  19. ppcfanforever1 macrumors regular

    ppcfanforever1

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #21
    My dad does this stuff its his hobby not the osx stuff but emulating windows 7 on q.
     
  20. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #22
    I'm sure that someone could make it somehow to run Mountain Lion on my Clamshell ;) :p :D

    ...and where's the link?
     
  21. MisterKeeks, Jan 15, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2013

    MisterKeeks macrumors 68000

    MisterKeeks

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    #24
    .
     
  22. Wildy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    #25
    Q is just a graphical frontend for QEMU - a pretty well-known piece of software in virtualization/emulation circles. People have reported that VirtualPC runs faster than QEMU - so use that if your aim is to run Windows.

    With regards to Moutain Lion running on it, yes it is [probably] possible, but it is going to be ridiculously slow. I have found this article on getting Leopard running under QEMU, essentially it is a fancy Hackintosh install (custom kexts are needed). The difference is that this guy is using QEMU fort virtualization, we must use QEMU for emulation - this might break a few things.

    Perhaps if I get some spare time I might give it a go and do a write-up - but I see no benefit over emulating Windows XP on VPC (obviously very dependant on what you need to do - but if you need ML for a newer Mac app, thus you will be using it interactively - forget it.)
     

Share This Page