Mountain Lion DVD

Discussion in 'OS X Mountain Lion (10.8)' started by BomBas, Jun 29, 2013.

  1. BomBas macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    #1
    Hi, I have bought the installer of ML and I am going to replace my old drive with a new one. I wanted to burn the installer to a DVD and I wanted to know if these DVDs will work:
    http://www.amazon.com/Verbatim-95310-Recordable-20-Disc-Spindle/dp/B000GHWRIK

    Also, I would like to know how I can retrieve some apps data after I switch drives (the old drive is going to be an external drive).

    Thanks!
     
  2. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #2
    Those DVDs should work just fine.

    Once you install the new drive and install the OS, at the end of the OS install use the Migration Assistant that pops up to import your account and data from the old drive.
     
  3. Richdmoore macrumors 65816

    Richdmoore

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Location:
    Troutdale, OR
    #3
    I would recommend putting the installer on a USB drive instead, it will be much faster, and 8gb drives can be found for $8 at places like staples & OfficeMax.

    I put the installer on the USB drive using lion disk maker. Works great and is free.
    http://liondiskmaker.com/
     
  4. BomBas thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    #4
    Thanks for the reply, I appreciate it.
    I do not want to clone my entire old HDD, just some apps with their data and my personal documents. How can I do that? The old drive is going to operate as an external drive.

    Thanks again.

    I would like to get it done asap so I prefer doing it with what I already have, unless it's going to be really slow. Is it? Thanks.
     
  5. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #5
    That is what the Migration Assistant will do. You can check mark if you want apps (although it is all or none), then also move over you documents, music etc.
     
  6. BomBas thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    #6
    So the migration assistant isn't like Carbon Copy Cloner? Because I basically want a fresh install, only with some apps data from the old HDD.
     
  7. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #7
    No, it is different. It does not copy over the OS, it just brings in settings and whatever data you tell it to.

    When you run it you will see the screens below giving you some control over what you import.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  8. BomBas, Jul 2, 2013
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2013

    BomBas thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    #8
    Thank you very much. BTW Will apps data be saved with Migration Assistant? (Chrome opened tabs, 1Password Passwords)
     

Share This Page