Mountain Lion GM not available in software update

Discussion in 'OS X Mountain Lion (10.8)' started by falcora, Jul 9, 2012.

  1. falcora macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    #1
    I'm running Mountain Lion developer preview 4, but the GM doesn't show up in the software update yet? Since its a GM, do I need to do a clean install of it?
     
  2. Senseotech macrumors 6502a

    Senseotech

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Location:
    Wilkesboro, NC
    #2
    It won't show up in Software Update because its not a simple update, its the entire installer.
     
  3. falcora thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    #3
    So I should be able to install the GM on top of my current DP4 installation? I ask because I'm one of the shmucks who thought it was a good idea to use Mountain Lion as his primary OS during the beta phase.
     
  4. Senseotech macrumors 6502a

    Senseotech

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Location:
    Wilkesboro, NC
    #4
    You might, but I'd advise against it.
     
  5. Peace macrumors Core

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #5
    For the cheap non-wanting to contribute to the development types :

    The GM is obtained by way of a redemption code from the Developer web portal. You redeem the code from the App Store.
     
  6. MikhailT macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    #6
    Yes, you can install over it. There won't be any problems doing so.
     
  7. falcora thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    #7
    Yup, that's how I installed each preview from before, I have a developer account through my work.
     
  8. Peace macrumors Core

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #8
    if you know why did you ask ?

    :confused:
     
  9. Killa Aaron macrumors regular

    Killa Aaron

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    Location:
    Chicago
    #9
    I can tell you don't usually use the Dev portal that much otherwise this wouldn't be asked right now.
     
  10. falcora thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    #10
    I knew how to install it, but I was hoping that there was an easier way to update in the OS itself
     
  11. Peace macrumors Core

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #11
    You sure about that ?

    ;)
     

Share This Page