Mountain Lion on a 2008 iMac???

Discussion in 'iMac' started by smoking monkey, Sep 24, 2012.

  1. smoking monkey macrumors 65816

    smoking monkey

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Location:
    You Only Live Twice
    #1
    Hey,

    My machine: 2008 iMac 4gig ram 3.06ghz 8800graphics card

    I've installed Mountain Lion and it's fine, but it pauses or slows a bit too much for my liking in relation to safari and video. Not a lot, just enough to distract.

    So I'm wondering if I should do a clean install as I just did an update from SL. Is anybody using ML on a 2008 iMac? How's it running for you?

    Thanks.
     
  2. skyenet macrumors regular

    skyenet

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Location:
    Near Glasgow - Scotland
    #2

    ML running fine on a 2007 iMac. Safari and YoutUbe working fine and no lag. Mine is a Core Duo 2.8 Ghz 24" iMac 4Gb Ram

    Was just going through Apple's Mountain Lion site and came across Airplay. Found yet another reason why I want a new iMac. It doesn't work on my older 2007 or 2009 iMacs. Does work fine on my 2011 Mac Mini and looks great on a 50" screen using the latest Apple TV :)
     
  3. comatory macrumors 6502a

    comatory

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    #3
    Since Lion 4GB of RAM seems like an absolute minimum. I have Mac mini with 2GB on Lion and it's unbearable at times (thank god it only serves media).

    I'd go with 8GB RAM but first check if the system isn't being slowed down by other issues (lack of free space on system OS, some process taking up a lot of CPU, up-to-date java and flash, install all available OS updates).
     
  4. digitalfailure macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    #4
    This is something that really interests me, I have a 2.8ghz 24' Imac with 4gb running on SL that I'm waiting to upgrade (as soon as apple decide to refresh the line)

    It's still working fine, but I would like the newer features like iCal support via cloud so that my ipad and iphone all stay updated.

    I was wondering if ML will run on it and still allow me to use photoshop cs4 and Lightroom2 as a stop gap until the newer (mythical) imacs launch.
     
  5. Mike in Kansas macrumors 6502a

    Mike in Kansas

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Location:
    Metro Kansas City
    #5
    I'm running ML on my 2008 24" 2.8GHz iMac with no problems whatsoever; however I have upgraded the RAM to the max of 6GB (even though Apple states 4GB) and have also dropped in a 240GB SSD as my boot/system/application drive. All of my files (with the exception of my Aperture library) are on an external 2GB FW800 HDD.

    Check your activity monitor to see what your page-outs look like. Excessive page-outs show that your RAM is low on many occasions and increasing your RAM may help.
     
  6. smoking monkey thread starter macrumors 65816

    smoking monkey

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Location:
    You Only Live Twice
    #6
    Thanks to the replies.

    I will check the activity monitor. Didn't know it took 6gb of ram. But I fear it's too late to upgrade the ram as I want the new computer and it would just be wasting money.

    I think I might do a clean install.
     

Share This Page