Mountain Lion on a Mac Pro 2,1 2007!!!

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Baytriple, Jun 26, 2012.

  1. Baytriple, Jun 26, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2012

    Baytriple macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    #1
    After about 7 hours and various message from http://www.jabbawok.net (thank you if you are on here) It would only really take 1 tops if you knew what you were doing.

    I have finally got Mountain Lion on my 2,1 2007 Mac Pro. I am so happy. :)

    I begrudgingly ordered a Retina MBP as I thought it was the end for my Quad-Core Intel Xeon 2.99 GHz (it used to be 3 GHz). I cancelled it as I couldn't bring myself to spend all that money when all I really wanted was an updated MP.

    Anyway. If I can do it then Im sure you can have a crack at it too.

    The proof.
    http://s427.photobucket.com/albums/...view&current=ScreenShot2012-06-26at190914.png
     
  2. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #2
    I'm curious what is it in Mountain Lion that's so important that you'd spend thousands of dollars and go from a desktop to a laptop just to get it?

    I'm still using Snow Leopard, mostly because I don't like many of the small, subtle changes in Lion. Support for more video cards is probably the one reason I'm considering ML.
     
  3. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #3
    As Locke would say:

    "Don't tell me what I can't do !!!"
     
  4. Baytriple thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    #4
    I was just looking to modernise my kit. Get some thunderbolt action and a 27 inch thunderbolt screen. Although I didn't realise how expensive thunderbolt storage drives were.

    I have a 2011 17 mac book pro and a 2007 Mac Pro. Which I'm very happy with for home/work use.

    My motivation was to keep my phone, laptop and desktop in sync. I spend a lot of time on my comp being a graphic designer and do enjoy having a little play if possible.
     
  5. Baytriple thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    #5
    Exactly!! Since the Xeon processor would run on 64 bit anyway why not utilise this fact.
     
  6. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #6
    I am still hopeful that the fact that DP1 COULD EASILY run on a 1,1 will lead to a better hack once the GM hits.

    They went to the bother of writing a 32 bit kernel and even released it out into the wild, let's hope some clever folks figure out how to adapt it into the GM.
     
  7. Baytriple thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    #7
    I have been using ML all evening and it is running everything just fine on the Developer 4 version.
     
  8. Cindori macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #8
    the problem is not getting ML running.

    the problem is it's not supported by Apple.

    you could basically accidently update to 10.8.1 and have your work machine bricked by missing drivers.

    that's why most people SHOULD stay on Lion.
     
  9. Neodym macrumors 68000

    Neodym

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2002
    #9
    IIRC when Snow Leopard was about to come out, drivers from some beta had been used in Leopard for using newer graphic cards. Maybe something like this is possible again: Sticking to Snow Leopard while using ML drivers for newer graphic cards.

    Perhaps a Dev can tell whether there have been API changes in that area from 10.6 to 10.8...
     
  10. Adam Betts, Jul 4, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2012

    Adam Betts macrumors newbie

    Adam Betts

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2002
    Location:
    Flagstaff, AZ
    #10
    Sweet :) I'm also trying to install DP4 on my Mac Pro 2,1 however I can't seem to boot into Mountain Lion hard drive without kernel panic or 'no entry' symbol. I've followed everything in Jabbawok's instruction but I feel like I'm missing something.

    Did you do anything differently from Jabbawok's instruction to get your Mac Pro 2,1 to work such as editing the smbios.plist? I'd like to know if anything else you did differently.

    [edit] I've found the problem, it was the 7200 card that crashed or prevented ML from booting up. After removing the card, ML worked beautifully.
     
  11. Baytriple thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
  12. ssgbryan macrumors 6502

    ssgbryan

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    #12

    Thunderbolt is only available on the logic board. And that doesn't seem to be changing for the foreseeable future.

    If you want to freshen up your box - add SSDs and up your ram.

    A 2007 can take up to 6 hard drives internally with no aftermarket parts. I have 2 SSDs (OWC 240 Electras - Boot Drive) in a Raid 0, 2 2TB hard drives in another Raid 0 (Data Drive), and the other 2 2TB in another Raid 0 (iTunes Library) - with an external 6TB Raid 5 as a backup.


    You can add 4 more (2.5") hard drives with a DX4 from TransIntl.
     
  13. deconstruct60 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    #13
    For a Retina MBP with 16GB of memory ( minimally $2,300 ) there are currently 1 (almost two if go up the $2,500 ) refurb Mac Pro's that would be an upgrade (not update) to the 2007 Mac Pro sitting on.

    Requires 0 hours of tweaking to run Mountain Lion. Extremely likely will require 0 hours of tweaking to run 10.9 when it arrives.

    It is rather curious when folks yell "old tech" at the current models from 4-5 year even older models.
     
  14. vinny. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    #14
    How?

    How did you do it? I want to install mountain lion onto a 2007 Mac Pro, how do I do this?
     
  15. paulrbeers macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    #15
    Ummm, he posted a link to the website. jabbawok.net.... look for "how I installed Mt Lion on my Mac Pro 1,1" (even further to spoon feed you, look at the links on the right hand size of the main page). A 1,1 and 2,1 are the same machine.

    I did this although to be honest, I ended up reverting back to Lion. My whole reasoning for upgrading to Mt Lion was for Messages really and for some reason my UUID got all scrambled using the hack above and so I couldn't use Messages anyway. There were also lots of other issues I ran into and the boot time was practically double. I have resigned myself to wait until 2013 when the next "mac pro" (or whatever they call it) is released.

    Edit: I realize that paragraph two may have been due to something I did, but frankly it just wasn't worth my time to redo the entire install again.
     
  16. vinny. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    #16
    Failure

    I tried this and I followed the instructions to the letter, was quite involved. Now my computer won't even let me boot off a disk, won't let me reset pram setting, won't let me start up in recovery mode, won't let me boot off another drive. Nothing, just says boot boot boot boot boot boot error boot boot boot error
     
  17. paulrbeers macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    #17
    I made sure before attempting to do the above, was to have a perfectly cloned copy of my 10.7.5 install. When I was unhappy with my 10.8.2 install, I just ripped out the PATA drive, reset the pram (cmd + option + P + R), and told my Mac Pro to boot from the external cloned drive of 10.7.5.
     
  18. nilk macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    #18
    I successfully did this with my 2007 Mac Pro 2,1 as well. My only issue is that it doesn't always come back from sleep, so I don't put it to sleep at all, but I rarely did that anyway so not a big loss and not a deal breaker for me. I haven't really investigated that, there might be a fix that I'm not aware of. Aside from the sleep issue, it's been rock solid.

    I followed Jabbawok's instructions but I used a newer version of Chameleon (2.1 r2069) than what he said to use. Not sure there was any value in using the newer version, though.

    Mountain Lion is much better than Lion (in regards to bug fixes, stability, and features), so I think this is worth doing if you are on Lion, though maybe Lion has received the bug fixes that were previously Mountain Lion-only. However, if you are on Snow Leopard, can run all the software you want to, and you are happy with it, I'm not sure it's worth upgrading, though.
     
  19. Tucom macrumors 65816

    Tucom

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    #19
    OMG LOST REFERENCE FTW!

    You win the internet for today.
     
  20. yellowbunny macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    #20
    I've done this too. It's super easy to do if you already use bootcamp.
     

Share This Page