Mountain Lion size ?

Discussion in 'OS X Mountain Lion (10.8)' started by davidgnomo, Jul 7, 2012.

  1. davidgnomo macrumors 6502a

    davidgnomo

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Location:
    My place !
    #1
    Does anyone know how much space ML takes in a SSD ?
     
  2. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #2
    According to this post, and Apple's website, Apple calls for about 8GB for ML.

     
  3. wassal43 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2011
  4. Puevlo macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    #4
    How sad. I remember when a complete OS would fit on a floppy disk. And it still had just as much functionality.
     
  5. TonyK macrumors 6502a

    TonyK

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    #5
    Man those days were a LONG time ago. Look at what an OS does know that it did not do back then in the single floppy days. Are we talking about 360K floppies BTW?

    Looking up Lion I see size ranges from about 6GB to 10GB. My money is closer to 10GB based on a full, fresh install.

     
  6. sammich macrumors 601

    sammich

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Location:
    Sarcasmville.
    #6
    Yup. And icons on OS X have higher resolutions than the screens that those floppy OS' ran on.
     
  7. Arelunde macrumors 6502a

    Arelunde

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Location:
    CA Central Coast
    #7
    Anyone have ANY idea of how long it will take to download all this???? I'm thinking it's going to be something like 8 hours with my DSL 3MB/s... Vz's idea of "high speed" internet. :(

    If this is true, are there other options? I've heard references to ordering the OS on something tangible.
     
  8. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #8
    I think it would take about 9.5 hours if you were to get a sustained throughput of 2Mbps during the whole download.

    Currently you can buy Lion on a USB drive from Apple. I imagine that they may do the same for Mountain Lion as well.
     
  9. Tom8 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    #9
    I'm pretty sure that at WWDC 2011, Apple said that Lion was 4.2GB, on the App Store it's 3.89GB, so i really don't know why it would take up 10GB on some installs.

    Mountain Lion will NOT be 8GB either. Look at the developer seeds, i think the biggest one has been about 4GB(?) that is around about what ML will be when it's released
     
  10. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #10
    The developer seeds are one thing, but Apple's website says otherwise under General Requirements. Plus, I imagine that the download size is one thing, possibly smaller, then once it is installed, it is decompressed and then takes up more space.
     
  11. Tom8 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    #11
    Yeah, i saw your post at the start of the thread. But there is no way in hell that the OS is going to be an 8GB download.

    Edit, for reference. The Lion page on Apple.com says 7GB of required, yet the download is 3.98GB
    http://www.apple.com/uk/macosx/specs.html
     
  12. davidgnomo thread starter macrumors 6502a

    davidgnomo

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Location:
    My place !
    #12
    Something tells me it's much better waiting for ML to be released before getting my first Mac ...
     
  13. sammich macrumors 601

    sammich

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Location:
    Sarcasmville.
    #13
    That's always been the case for installers. When files are stored on your drive, they take up whole blocks, the remainder is empty (the block size is dependant on your FS setup). So a single text file with one character in it takes up one block, which IIRC is 4KB in a default OS X install. If you have a thousand of these files they will take up 4MB of space. If you compressed these it'll shrink it down to just the filename and the contents, maybe 2KB (at a guess).

    There are also other means of compression, but that's one of the obvious ones. Especially when the app you're installing has numerous help files.
     
  14. Peace macrumors Core

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #14
    I think you mis-read that conversion utility. I have comcast high speed at about 30Mbps. The throughput is anywhere from 2.0 - 4.0 Mbps and I always download the seeds that run around 4GB in size and it usually takes me about 20-30 minutes.

    The GM or final release will be around 3.5GB in size. The O/S needs 8GB free because the downloaded file expands to that.
     
  15. Arelunde macrumors 6502a

    Arelunde

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Location:
    CA Central Coast
    #15
    30 mbps !!! I'm jealous! Wish I had that good a deal from Verizon's DSL. 3 just doesn't cut it. Guess I'm lucky I can at least stream Netflix.
     
  16. RoelJuun macrumors 6502

    RoelJuun

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #16
    I'm not trying to be an *** or boast or anything, but is it that bad in the US? Just interested why you're so jealous on 30 Mbs. We have almost the cheapest internet connection available in town (Netherlands) and have 50 Mbs…It goes up to 120 Mbs.

    OT
    I've asked this question before; can you finally type the name of someone in your Address Book in an iCal event in the 'location' info?? It is annoying that you type someones name and it doesn't link the persons address.
     
  17. Senseotech macrumors 6502a

    Senseotech

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Location:
    Wilkesboro, NC
    #17
    Yes, it really is that bad. I'm lucky enough to have a provider that sells 100 Mbps, but I realistically get 60-70, and if it weren't included in a cable and telephone bundle, its over $100/month. Slow connections are the norm over here, with most telcos advertising DSL at 3-5 as the usual, and cable operators marketing 10-20.
     
  18. Sylon macrumors 68020

    Sylon

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Location:
    Michigan/Ohio, USA
    #18
    I hope its no more than 4GB. Even that size on my miserable internet here will take me roughly 12 hours to download. And that's only if its uninterrupted.

    As much as I want to have the latest and greatest, I'm almost tempted to wait until I return home before downloading it. But I'm impatient, lol.
     
  19. ml.sail1 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    #19
    Yeah the US is just that bad… I used to live in Sweden and we would get at least 30 Mbps and go up from there. I also lived in Spain for a while and we would prob get around a sustained 20 Mbps…

    Here in the US I only get around 10-15 Mbps.

    If you look at http://www.netindex.com/download/allcountries/ and look at their like ave speeds and stuff the US ranks fairly low… just our luck I guess.
     
  20. Arelunde macrumors 6502a

    Arelunde

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Location:
    CA Central Coast
    #20
    Where I live on the California Central Coast, Verizon offers what they call "Enhanced High Speed Internet" at 3 mbps. Verizon's regular internet is 1 mbps!!

    I have a "dry" phone line for the DSL - no landline service - and pay $46/month for my 3 mbps. Cable offers up to 20 mbps, but the cable tv service is so very expensive it would almost double my overall costs. I use satellite for tv.

    I checked with Vz today and the only option I have for faster internet (with them, that is) is to wait for FIOS in the area. Heaven knows when that will occur and, I'm positive, it will cost a WHOLE lot more!

    It's such a balancing act these days to keep communication services costs down. PITA
     
  21. iThinkergoiMac macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Location:
    Terra
    #21
    You know that's because the OS needs space for swapping as well, right? So it's a requirement for the OS to run (unless you have lots of memory and want to manually disable swapping), even though the actual install won't be 8 GB. That's the reason why Lion says it requires 7 GB space even though the install is about 4 GB.

    There's NO WAY Mountain Lion is going to be double the size of Lion.
     
  22. Senseotech macrumors 6502a

    Senseotech

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Location:
    Wilkesboro, NC
    #22
    And that space for swapping is still part of the footprint for the OS.
     
  23. sammich macrumors 601

    sammich

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Location:
    Sarcasmville.
    #23
    This is so wrong. So very wrong.

    First, swap space is generated as needed. It starts off as an empty 64MB file on a fresh boot and expands as needed (by creating new swap files). Of course, you do need some space after the install for smooth running but that's not counted either, rather it's recommended that users keep below 90% at most times.

    Compression saves bandwidth. That's half of the job of an installer, to decompress (the other half being configuration and putting files into their correc places). That's why your ~4GB installer will take up 7-8GB of space when it's done.

    I've not checked the installed sizes of either Lion personally but they appear to be in the vicinity of 8GB installed, from what I've googled.

    You're right about the part that ML won't be double the size of Lion though :)
     
  24. davidgnomo thread starter macrumors 6502a

    davidgnomo

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Location:
    My place !
    #24
    I couldn't find it ... than at number 78 it appeared !!! ITALY : 5,58 Mbps ... just to give you an idea, Kyrgyzstan is almost doubling us !!! :mad::mad::mad:
     
  25. iThinkergoiMac macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Location:
    Terra
    #25
    No, you just completely misread my post.

    I know swap space is generated as needed. I understand very well the exact process it goes through. If you thought I meant that OS X uses dedicated swap space like Linux does, then you read more into my post than I put in it. But swap files can easily get into the 3 GB range (especially if you don't shut down your computer very often) which is why Apple includes that much in the space requirement. You seem to think that you need extra empty space unrelated to swap for smooth operation, but that's just not true. You should keep about 10% capacity available for the purposes of swap, primarily. There are a few other reasons, but swap is by far the biggest one.
     

Share This Page