Mountain Lion to El Capitan BAD DREAM

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by Patth9, May 22, 2018.

  1. Patth9, May 22, 2018
    Last edited: May 22, 2018

    Patth9 macrumors regular

    Patth9

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #1
    I truly have never come across this in all the years I have been with Apple.

    I finally decided to go from Mountain Lion to El Capitan, and yes I did do a backup.

    The pictures I am showing illustrate that I have two monitors.

    If you look closely at these two pictures, each monitor is at the very top of the picture.

    Though you can’t see it, each monitor has its own black apple in the left top corner.

    Each monitor has it’s own System Preference.

    They are like Conjoined Twins and can both restart and shutdown.

    On the picture that has the blue arrangement, nothing is stopping me from putting the blue arrangement on the opposite side.

    Both have their own docks, but they never appear at the same time.

    I can shut down on either side .

    Only one monitor has the El Capitan HD, but I can move it from one monitor to the other monitor along with it’s partitions.

    To do this upgrade, I downloaded El Capitan, but I also have an unused OS X El Capitan in the Applications.

    As I said before, I have NEVER had this happen to me: it’s like eating with a fork in both hands.

    I know I could use the backup of Mountain Lion and delete this mess, and try again. But how do I know it won’t have the same problem?

    How do I fix this mess???







    Conjoined twins 2018-05-22 at 2.02.49 PM.png twins.png
     
  2. Boyd01 macrumors 601

    Boyd01

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Location:
    New Jersey Pine Barrens
    #2
    You haven't shown us the "Arrangement" tab in the Display preferences. If you have the "Mirror Displays" option checked, I think this is what you get.
     
  3. Patth9 thread starter macrumors regular

    Patth9

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #3
    The top picture is the one with the BLUE color, check the left side, there is a mirror showing NO check. I wish you were right. Noting would make me happier.
    Patt
     
  4. DeltaMac macrumors G3

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #4
    Move your displays, in the Arrangement tab, so that the displays are NOT side-by-side.
    For example, move the display on the right part way down, so only half of the screen is adjacent. (This is a test, to see what happens to the top menu on that screen.)
    It would also be nice to see screen shots of the full screen image on each display, and not just the top right and top left corners, respectively. (Unless those ARE full screen shots already) In THAT case, I would suspect that you have some strange setup in your System Preferences/Mission Control pref pane. It may just be an odd left-over from the Mountain Lion system, such as some screen setup setting that is being mis-read by the new system install.

    Try this: Mission Control pref pane, un-check "Displays have separate spaces". You will need to restart your Mac after you make that change. That may reset the strange screens that you are seeing now.
     
  5. Patth9, May 22, 2018
    Last edited: May 22, 2018

    Patth9 thread starter macrumors regular

    Patth9

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #5
    Could the problem be that having two monitors on, when I downloaded El Capitan, and started the process that El Capitan got messed up?

    Didn't see the your post, DeltMac, before I posted this above.

    Will try out what you suggested.

    Patt
     
  6. chabig, May 22, 2018
    Last edited: May 23, 2018

    chabig macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2002
    #6
    Nothing is messed up. El Capitan changed how multiple displays work. Each display has a menu bar to make it easier to use, and the dock appears on either display when you move the cursor over it which again means it’s closer when you need it. When you use the Display preference pane, it opens a window on each display so you can adjust settings pertinent to that display. The desktop is a combination of the entire display space, which is why you only see one of each icon. It’s all normal. See https://www.tekrevue.com/tip/move-dock-another-monitor-mac-os-x/
     
  7. Patth9 thread starter macrumors regular

    Patth9

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #7
    SO, chabig, what you are tell me is all is as it should be, right!

    Good thing you can't see my HAPPY DANCE.

    SURE DIDN'T KNOW HOW I WAS GOING TO START ALL OVER.


    I WILL STUDY THE LINK YOU SENT, THANK YOU VERY MUCH!

    --- Post Merged, May 22, 2018 ---
    --- Post Merged, May 22, 2018 ---
     
  8. flyinmac macrumors 68040

    flyinmac

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Location:
    United States
    #8
    Yep. Everything is as it should be.

    I was reading your description trying to see where you got into describing a problem. But you never got to the problem part.

    So yeah, it is the way it should be. The other poster is correct.
     
  9. Ritsuka macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    #9
    System Preferences -> Mission Control -> Uncheck "Displays have separate Spaces" and restart the computer.
     
  10. smirking macrumors 68000

    smirking

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #10
    It's a good thing chabig got to you before the "do a clean install... clean install fixes everything" guys could respond to this thread.
     
  11. flyinmac macrumors 68040

    flyinmac

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Location:
    United States
    #11
    Yeah... there’s too many of those.

    Not everything requires a fresh start.
     
  12. arkitect macrumors 603

    arkitect

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Location:
    Bath, United Kingdom
    #12
    So true.
    And who has the time for that besides tinkerers…
    Some of us just "want it to work".
    :)
     
  13. flyinmac macrumors 68040

    flyinmac

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Location:
    United States
    #13
    Exactly
     
  14. elf69 macrumors 68020

    elf69

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Location:
    Cornwall UK
    #14
    Yeah my el cap imac with external monitor is same as OP described.

    This is only mac i dual monitor on so nothing to compare it with.

    Apple dual monitor so much easier set up than windows, although ten has now got auto set up.

    I know friends who fix for most problems is wipe and reinstall on windows!
    Sometimes the engineers button fixes a lot, just turn it off then back on.
     
  15. flyinmac macrumors 68040

    flyinmac

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Location:
    United States
    #15
    There is a local shop. They do a reinstall of the system on every machine. Take it in for a bad video card... you’ll get it back wiped clean, and a charge for their “OEM” Windows DVD because you didn’t supply them with factory restore discs (because wiping your drive erased your recovery partition).

    Doesn’t matter what the problem is. They will do a full wipe and install. All data gone.

    I stop in once in a while to talk with them. And I listen to what they tell customers while I browse.

    I hear a lot of false information.

    Got this message on the screen. Yep that’s a virus. I’m like ummm... that’s a pop up window. Don’t worry about it. Computer is fine.

    Oh... you can’t upgrade this system with a faster CPU. Ummm. Yes you can. It’ll take up to this.

    I’ve talked with them about some of the projects I’ve done. And they are like you can do that??? Yep.

    I had them pick up a machine I had seen in the corner. Had them open it up. Said tell me what you see in there.

    They Couldn’t tell me anything about the computer. So I prompted them. What CPU does it have? They said we haven’t turn it on yet.

    I said how much memory does it have. Same answer.

    What video card. Same answer.

    What year was it made? Same answer.

    What version of Windows can it run? Same answer. Haven’t tried.

    Right on down the line.

    I showed them where the chipset was. What it’s revision was. It’s Intel. Now you know one detail. Look at the chips. Those are Xeons. Now this is their speed. They’re quad cores.

    That’s an NVIDIA card. Here’s the model number.

    And look at the memory chips. See these numbers??? This is how you translate it. It’s got 16 GB.

    And it will run Windows 10 Pro 64-BIT and Windows Server 2016 will run on it too.

    Now... why don’t you hit the power button and see if I’m right.

    I snag stuff out of there periodically when they don’t know what it is.

    Oh... yeah... it’s dead??? What you gonna do with it???? Yeah... shame to see it trashed. Yep... I can take it off your hands.

    Get home... hmmm... dead??? Naw... works fine. Just have to know what it’s used for.

    Computer shops are some of the stupidest people. They only sound intelligent until someone knows what their talking about.

    For the record, I have been a service tech. I have repaired things that “were unrepairable”. Most of the time the repair took 30 seconds, and most of the time I didn’t charge for it.

    But when I step into someone else’s shop, I’m really good at sounding like I don’t know anything. I just talk. Browse. Ask questions. And then when they think they’ve got me, I ask a really intelligent question. And I wait while the wheels spin.

    After they stammer a bit, I’ll lead them down the path. And then let them process what just happened.

    I’ve made friends with some that are honest. And I’ve “educated” the ones who talk above their knowledge level.

    Now I have a circuit design background. I have a programming background. I have a huge computer and electronics history.

    I know something and a lot in every category. But I don’t know everything. It’s interesting to talk to the techs who can’t admit that.
     
  16. elf69 macrumors 68020

    elf69

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Location:
    Cornwall UK
    #16
    Yeah one local computer shop here is run by a retired geography teacher!

    He sells used parts as new in builds!
    He openly sells counterfeit software, windows, MS office.....

    He is cheaper than us and we seen a few of his machines in for repair.
    failed gpu or psu is most common fault, because he fits used parts and charges for new!

    although of late I'm not proud of my place of work either.
    We had to move and as such lost 80% of passing trade.

    The boss has been using practices me and the engineer do not agree with to try get more money in door or from those customers who do come in.

    It has given the company a bad name :(
    which is shame as our engineer is an excellent engineer.

    I work sales and do not have the engineering background he does.

    I can sell you what you need and he can fix it once you break it!
     
  17. smirking macrumors 68000

    smirking

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #17
    Funny you bring that up because I had some experiences being the service agent of last resort for some associates when their hard drives crashed. They take it in and are told they're hosed and someone tells them to bring it to me. One person even got refused by a supposed data recovery service who looked at it and said they couldn't work on it. I recovered the drives in all cases.

    I was shocked that a data recovery business couldn't manage to skim the data off of a glitchy hard drive. It took me several tries and it took all weekend to run the job, but I recovered their data.
     
  18. elf69 macrumors 68020

    elf69

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Location:
    Cornwall UK
    #18
    We use a linux machine that is set NOT no auto mount drives for data recovery.

    We too have had drives going for weeks retrying until it gets it back.

    we are 90% successful in recovery.
     
  19. flyinmac macrumors 68040

    flyinmac

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Location:
    United States
    #19
    Yeah. Unscrupulous business tactics catch up to you.

    I tend to value my reputation higher than my pocketbook. And I have a history of telling bosses where to shove it. Usually 50/50 results between me walking out the door, or getting a promotion.

    I won’t compromise my values for the sake of my boss. And I will and have told my customers when my boss is full of s$/+. Lol. Which usually results in me being temporarily fired until the clients revolt and fire the company, which brings me back to calm the customers.

    Of course speaking of my younger years lol. Haven’t had occasion in a long time. But I still would.

    I’m actually arguing nearly the opposite side of this in another thread. But it really isn’t in conflict. Lol

    If your boss wants to survive long term, the way to steer customers to your new location is to show them a value they can’t get with your competitors.

    And education.

    For example, in one shop I ran years ago. I didn’t accuse any of my competitors of doing anything wrong. But I provided educational materials and handouts with every receipt that discussed how to make sure you only had legitimate software.

    Ahhh.... education. Not accusations. See...
    --- Post Merged, May 23, 2018 ---
    A real data recovery company is beyond the scope of consumers. We’re not paying $10,000 to $100,000 for a hard drive to be dissected in a clean room environment (think 0 molecules of contaminants in the air) by people wearing special suits and analyzing the surface of the platters for literal bits of charge and no charge in stacked columns of polarity.

    So... I’m going to assume that the person took it to a business that sells a service of attempting a software recovery. And that their method didn’t work. Which isn’t surprising.

    If the drive will mount, then persistence of trying operating systems that can read the target file system without writing to it, is key.

    If the file system is damaged, I have performed manual repairs with a hex editor. That’s when I’ve already determined it’s almost a guaranteed loss anyway. Sometimes I’ve been successful at restoring the file system that way.

    Most times, persistence until something clicks on its own, and works just long enough to perform a copy is all that needs done.

    Sometimes it’s just that moment of hey the stars aligned and I’ve got 5 minutes to grab the most important stuff until the moon shifts.
     
  20. Patth9 thread starter macrumors regular

    Patth9

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #20
    I finely found the time to go back to my Mountain Lion to El Capitan BAD DREAM and read all the interesting comments. I may not understand all of what I read, but what comes through to me is the desire to not only help people like me, but the desire to be honest with your customers and your friends. I, for one, would have gone down hill, Apple wise, if not for this site; all the gentlemen who use to help me, are beyond this planet. Our Apple store, where I live, has a problem with arrogance.

    As always, thanks to everyone for your help.
     

Share This Page