iPad Mounting Drives On Jb iPad 2

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Marjamrob1, Jul 23, 2012.

  1. Marjamrob1 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012
    #1
    So when I plugin my camera, it's automatically mounted with photos, but if I go in iFile it isn't mounted, and in /dev, there is no disk1 file, this also happens with my USB drive, but it doesn't mount in photos, because I don't have a DCIM, so, can u help me With that?
     
  2. Marjamrob1 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012
    #2
    Also, my SD cards mount fine in ifile, with the adapter provided.
     
  3. utahman130 macrumors 6502a

    utahman130

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    #3
    Do you plug it in with a Camera Connection kit?
     
  4. Marjamrob1 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012
    #4
    Yuph, the official apple one that I bought at walmart, 4 hours ago, because my chinese knockoff one was completely broken.
     
  5. utahman130 macrumors 6502a

    utahman130

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    #5
    You could try looking for a USB file viewer in cydia or app store.
     
  6. Marjamrob1 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012
    #6
    Just to add, I am running in iOS 5.1.1 and I have utilized a proper setup with a y-splitter, My harddrive does spin when connected as well.


    Like what? I was unable to find anything that can actually view a usb drive, besides iFile, and myfile, if it's mounted, but nothing made for this specifically.
     
  7. utahman130 macrumors 6502a

    utahman130

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
  8. Marjamrob1 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012
    #8
    Yuph, I tried with terminal as well, but the disk1s1 thats supposed to be there, thats there with the sd card, is absentee. Therefore, I can't mount it with iFile, Terminal, or UsbToggle :(
     
  9. utahman130 macrumors 6502a

    utahman130

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    #9
    Take the adaptor back to Apple. Sounds like it is broken.
     
  10. Marjamrob1 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012
    #10
  11. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #11
    Are you sure the dock connector puts out enough power to do what you want. I believe between iPad1 and iPad2, Apple reduced the amount of power available thru the dock connector.

    I have read all sorts of things which could run via the dock connector/Camera Connection Kit on an iPad1 not longer work with iPad2.
     
  12. Marjamrob1 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012
    #12
    That was exactly the problem, thanks.
     
  13. Menneisyys2 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    #13
    1, use an externally powered HDD with FAT32 or exFAT. (I think the latter will also work.)

    2, use symlinks to map any directory from the HDD to any AppStore app. There's a very extensive tutorial on creating / using symlinks at http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1464236
     
  14. Marjamrob1 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012
    #14
    Yes, the problem was I didn't have enough power, and even with a y split usb, Apple thinks it needs more power.
     
  15. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
  16. Marjamrob1 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012
    #16
    Yes, some devices tell the computer they need an amount of power, even if they have it, and that is what I believe iPads go off of, unless it isn't there.
     

Share This Page