mounting Network Drive (connected directly to router)

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by JANVI, Jul 2, 2011.

  1. JANVI, Jul 2, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 2, 2011

    JANVI macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    #1
    I've been trying to mount a DLink network attached drive and can't figure out how to do that. By network attached I mean it is connected directly to the network with it's own IP address (192.168.10.109).

    Without mounting it, i can't seem to get time machine to back up to it (my ultimate goal). Does anybody know how to do this?

    thanks
     
  2. tdar macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    On the Space Coast
    #2
    New to Lion....Time machine Shares MUST be AFP. This has killed my Time Machine backup to my windows server. Looks like they are tying to drive Time Capsule sales. Found all of this in the Lion Time Machine help file.
     
  3. JANVI thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    #3
    I agree but am hoping somebody has found a work-around. I switched from Windows after many years, and love my Mac. However, the one true complaint I have is how they work so hard at making it hard to work with other Operating Systems (Android, for example). This one issue is what kept me away for years, and it is the one issue that keeps me from recommending Apple with no reservations.

    If anyone out there has found a work around, I'd greatly appreciate it.
     
  4. tdar macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    On the Space Coast
    #4
    I spent most of last night and almost all of today, trying to build something that would run on my Windows Server and make lion's Time Machine happy. Looks like it is going to take more work than it's worth. I think a linux box with Nettalk 2.2 beta would work, but for me, the pain of having to build and admin a linux system at the command line is just not worth it.....Looks like I'll end up with a Time Capsule after all,as the Mac server I'd like to have is more $$ than I have to invest right now.
     
  5. JANVI thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    #5
    thanks for your input tdar. I guess I'm stuck using a usb hard drive. Problem is, I'd like to be able to back up regularly, not just when I'm at my desk, and especially having to remember to plug the drive in!

    Hope you have a great fourth!
     
  6. basher macrumors 6502

    basher

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Location:
    Glendale, AZ USA
    #6
    With changes to TM in Lion your TM backups will get stored locally. When you reattach to your backup drive the local backups will copy to your backup drive.
     
  7. tdar, Jul 4, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2011

    tdar macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    On the Space Coast
    #7
    While Local Snapshots do solve the problem for laptop users (there are no local snapshots for desktop users) of having backups occur while they are away from their drive and when they forget to plug it in...what we were discussing is really about what kind of disk can be a Time Machine disk....If you can't make your disk work with Time Machine your kinda done here.
     

Share This Page