Mouse Acceleration Curve / Intellipoint Fix

Discussion in 'macOS' started by truz05, Nov 14, 2009.

1. truz05 macrumors newbie

Hey. I’m new to the forums. I’m not a complete dummy but I am not too good with macs, as I have ony switched over from a PC a couple of months ago. I have a new unibody MBP. Everything is fine, except for the mousing situation.

I have done some research as to why the mouse feel is downright brutal for me with OSX. The acceleration curve is different than in Windows. My only complaint with Apple right now is that they do not offer any kind of fix for this. I want to throw my macbook out the window when using an external mouse.

MS Intellipoint is supposedly the only true fix. Anyways from what I have read, MS Intellipoint will only override OSX’s cursor acceleration curve when using a Microsoft mouse. This person (link at bottom) found a way around it, although I think he is doing it with an "alphagrip". I need to see if I can do it with a Logitech wireless mouse. On the bottom, people commented that it worked for them. I find his directions very unclear, but that may be because I am not a wizard.

So, wizards…would you be so kind as to read this over and let me know if you think it makes sense. And how would I go about doing this for a Logitech wireless mouse versus this guy’s “alphagrip”? Thanks so much!

http://groups.google.com/group/alphagrip/browse_thread/thread/4174e7cf5ed909aa?pli=1

2. PurrBall macrumors 6502a

PurrBall

You could install USB Overdrive (usboverdrive.com) and just disable acceleration without any fuss.

3. truz05 thread starter macrumors newbie

Done that. Done pretty much everything. It isn't a fix. It makes it better. I don't have pictures of each curve, so I couldnt say, but making the accel. 0 does not fix it. Call me picky or whatever, but I can't function with it like that.

Anyone have a clue what that guy was actually doing in that link? Please? 40something viewers and one response :eek: