Mouse for editing

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by adn rcd dly, Jun 12, 2014.

?

Pick your mouse poison!

1. Apple Magic Mouse

40.0%
  2. Apple Trackpad

26.7%
  3. Apple Mighty Mouse

6.7%
  4. Other (Describe please)

33.3%
  1. adn rcd dly macrumors 6502

adn rcd dly

Hello All,

I have been searching the forums and have found 1 post that is 6 years old, so I thought I would bring it up anew.

I used to be an editor using FC Studio 2 on a G5. Pro keyboard, pro mouse, happy. That was many moons ago and I am finally getting back into the groove.

I bought an iMac and have yet to settle on any option for the suite itself because so much has changed. I'm doing trials of AVID, FCPX, and Adobe Premiere Pro. Nothing has stood out as a winner yet, so I will keep cutting away.

Anyway, here's my question. What do you find to be the best mouse for editing? I am using a trackpad at the moment, but I need to replace it kinda soon. I'm not really loving how it feels when editing, but it's neat for other stuff.

Feel free to leave opinions on editing suites too. As I said, I've been out of it for a good number of years. It's almost like learning all over again (and I am loving it!)

2. LethalWolfe macrumors G3

LethalWolfe

I prefer using a Wacom tablet. If I have to use a mouse I like mice that have good ergonomics and multiple programable buttons like the Logitech Performance Mouse MX. The Mighty Mouse is horrible and the Magic Mouse is okay. I haven't used Apple's stand alone trackpad but I don't like editing with the trackpad on my MBP so I assume I wouldn't like using the stand alone trackpad either. I haven't used one in ages but I used to really like Kensington's ExpertMouse trackball. Some people even like the Logitech G13 'gamepad' (for lack of a better term).

Generally I try to stay away from mice because I want to reduce my chances of developing carpel tunnel syndrome.

3. adn rcd dly, Jun 12, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2014