Mouse performance

Discussion in 'macOS' started by joomGO, Aug 13, 2009.

1. joomGO macrumors newbie

joomGO

I have a brand new MacBook Pro that I absolutely LOVE. As a web media developer I do a lot of work in Illustrator and Photoshop and the only thing I don't like is the performance of my wireless mouse. It's a lot different feeling than when I was on a PC. It just seems more jumpy and shakey and not nearly as smooth.

I am running SteerMouse to make it better but it's still not as precise as I'd like. Is this because it's a wireless mouse (not bluetooth)? I tried the Mighty Mouse (bluetooth) and it was bad so I bought a nice Logitech wireless and it's not any better.

Would I have better performance out of a USB wired mouse? The touchpad on my laptop seems to be fine, it's just when I use a mouse so I wasn't sure what caused this....

Any feedback would be much appreciated!

2. Cinder6 macrumors 6502

Cinder6

I've never really liked how the mouse works on OS X compared to Windows or Linux. But if there's some way to fix it...

3. kasakka macrumors 68000

Try USB Overdrive. I found I got a lot better results with it compared to Steermouse.

4. wankey macrumors 6502a

Mouse performance in Windows is vastly superior... this is coming from a FPS and RTS gamer. It just feels a lot more natural in windows and a lot more responsive / better ability to hit your target.

Now I'm maybe prejudiced because I play on Windows machines a lot but seriously, playing on a mac is feels so handicapped. I can almost feel the mouse pointer creeping up individual pixels sometimes.

5. joomGO thread starter macrumors newbie

joomGO

I can't believe how horrible the mouse feels on a Mac. Trying to work on graphics feels difficult, specially to get use to.

I absolutely love my Mac but this is so disappointing.

Thanks for the tip to try USB Overdrive, appreciate that. I'm going to try it now and post my feedback here to hopefully help others.