Move a widget to the menu bar or dashboard?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by hakr, Apr 10, 2009.

  1. hakr macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Location:
    Western shore, Chesapeake Bay. Maryland
    #1
    I have a "screenshot" widget I'd like to move permanently to either the menu bar at the top of my screen or, alternately, to the dashboard. I'd like the widget to reside in either of those places so that when I want to use it, I don't have to open up the (what I consider silly) widget bar.

    Suggestions?

    Thanks!
     
  2. Osarkon macrumors 68020

    Osarkon

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    Wales
    #2
    Are we on Windows or OS X here? Only there's no widget bar in OS X, and it would already be on the dashboard?
     
  3. hakr thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Location:
    Western shore, Chesapeake Bay. Maryland
    #3

    Whoops...I mean move the widget to the menu bar or the dock... sorry!:D
     
  4. Osarkon macrumors 68020

    Osarkon

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    Wales
    #4
  5. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
  6. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #6
    You can place widgets in the dock however when you click on them it launches Dashboard so the only advantage it would have is that it launches with that widget in focus. To do so you have to navigate to /Library/Widgets/ or /Users/username//Library/Widgets/ and then you can drag which widget you want to the right hand side of the dock just by the trash.

    You can move the widget to the desktop however it is a little annoying. Instructions here

    You can not place widgets in the menubar. These are totally different types of applications.

    What are you trying to do with this screenshot widget?

    There are a number of shortcuts that perform screenshots in OSX that are handy

    cmd+shift+3= Whole screen shot
    cmd+shift+4= Selection screen shot
    cmd+shift+4+ spacebar= Window screen shot

    Or alternatively there is the application "Grab" which is in your utilities folder
     

Share This Page