move menubar to the bottom of screen?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by myemaildw, Jun 14, 2008.

  1. myemaildw macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    #1
    I was just wandering is there a way to make the mac osx menubar to appear on the bottom of the screen like on windows. You see I like when the top is clear otherwise it's like wearing a hat.
    And the dock would go on the top of the screen I presume, autohiding.
    Many thanks for any advise you might have.
     
  2. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    Nope. Aside from some serious rewriting, you can't do this. Sorry.
     
  3. ltldrummerboy macrumors 68000

    ltldrummerboy

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    #3
    Um, wearing a hat, that's a little odd. You need to realize that the menu bar isn't the equivalent of the Windows start menu. In any Windows program the toolbar is at the top, not the bottom. I have never heard of anyone modifying their menu bar. I think you can put the Dock on the top but I don't know how.
     
  4. prostuff1 macrumors 65816

    prostuff1

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Location:
    Don't step into the kawoosh...
    #4
    The menubar is not the task bar. There would be some serious hacking needed to get it on the bottom. You can move the dock to anywhere (with some application help) but the menubar stays at the top of the screen.
     
  5. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
  6. dirt farmer macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    #6
    Wouldn't having it on the bottom then be like wearing shoes? Or perhaps slippers?

    Why the hatphobia?
     
  7. corywoolf macrumors 65816

    corywoolf

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    #7
    [​IMG]
     
  8. mrcottonwood macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    #8
    widescreen's need more room...

    Fine... movies look better with some width... but web
    pages, code, etc work better with vertical space.


    Tired of looking over my hands just to read the bottom of
    a webpage (on my laptop) ... bottom of the screen is fine
    place to put static elements such as the menu bar
    (or task bar for that matter).

    As for more code... that's just a lame/lazy spec
    that Apple developers coded to. If the dock can
    run anywhere certainly the Menu bar should.
     
  9. gorn macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    #9
  10. SteveSBE macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    #10
    I Agree

    I agree with you mrcottonwood. Not all of us view movies or play games...I want my screen height back! If Apple wants to make customers happy they will give us options. I just want to move the thing to the right side of the screen. Even windows allows me to at least hide it a menu. So Apple, give me options and allow customization of all components! And while you're at it, create a keyboard on which I don't have to press 2-3 keys for every simple function I'd like to perform...like deleting a character, paging forward/backward, paging to the end of the document, and so on. The mouse pad on my MBP is wonderful HOWEVER it isn't the answer to every question especially when I have to constantly move my hands on, then off, then on, then off, the keyboard to perform these function because I can remember all of these impossible combinations of keys.

    Steve
     
  11. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #12
  12. GTROntario macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    #13
    The reason why I want to move the tool bar is that I have a second monitor above the laptop. When I try to move the window through the menubar, it just stops in line with tool bar, but the mouse moves to the top monitor.

    Other than moving it left, right or below to the top screen, is there another way around this?

    Thank you.
     
  13. Le Big Mac macrumors 68020

    Le Big Mac

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #14
    I have high confidence that Steve Jobs (and others) at some point decided the menu bar should not be movable. Some things about OS X are configurable, some things aren't.
     
  14. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #15
    You could drag the Menu Bar to the upper screen. You could also look into SecondBar.
    [​IMG]
     
  15. GTROntario macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    #16
    Thank you so much for this. It shall help!
     
  16. mr666 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    #17
    I always get the wrath of the monitors for adding any comments to an old thread (but never can get them to tell me what is the cut-off for "old"), but you guys tagged on after NINE MONTHS, so I feel it's OK for me, too.

    Any app can be changed to use other preferences. How do you suppose the menu bar goes to the top? Preferences. OS 10.7 allows changing the transparency of the menu bar, and that is by writing to preferences. All you have to do is read the prefs file to see where it puts the location at top, and change it to bottom. Example that is similar: The Desktop Picture can be set for a folder of pictures that change every X seconds, but the choices do not include 15 seconds like I want, so I changed the prefs file, and voila, my picture changes every 15 seconds.
     

Share This Page