Move OS X and Windows BootCamp to external SSD?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Truefan31, Jun 12, 2014.

  1. Truefan31 macrumors 68040

    Truefan31

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    #1
    Is there a step by step tutorial from beginning to end to do this? Can I first set it all up on my imac internal drive (1tb 7200) then move it to the ssd?
     
  2. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #2
    Yes, simply use carbon clone copy to clone your current disk to the SSD.
     
  3. hfg macrumors 68040

    hfg

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
    #3
    Using CCC will move your OS X environment to the SSD and create a recovery partition if your original disk had one, but won't move the Windows BootCamp over. For that, you can use WinClone to create a backup image and then restore it to the external SSD. Very easily done with both clone programs.

    There may be issues with booting Windows from an external drive depending on which enclosure you choose to use ... some won't boot Windows on a Mac. Also be aware that the "trim" command for SSDs will work over a Thunderbolt interface, but not over a USB 3.0 interface.

    Good Luck...
     
  4. Truefan31, Jun 13, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2014

    Truefan31 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Truefan31

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    #4
    Move OS X and Windows BootCamp to external SSD?

    So I can create the windows bootcamp partition on my internal hd. Then use carboncopycloner and it copies both the windows and osx over? I'd like to have half for each os on the ssd.

    So do ccc first then winclone? It's a thunderbolt connection
     
  5. truciet macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    #5
    Just to warn you, you can't use parallels or fusion to use your boot camp partition off the external.

    So if you use boot camp 100%, it's fine. However, you won't be able to import it in parallels or fusion.
     
  6. hfg, Jun 13, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2014

    hfg macrumors 68040

    hfg

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
    #6
    Partition and format your external SSD as you desire with standard "Mac OS Extended Journaled" for the OS X part, and "FAT" for the Windows part.

    Then use CCC to clone your existing OS X environment to the external SSD and create the recovery partition if desired.

    Then use WinClone to create an image of your existing Windows environment, and then run it again to install that image just created to your SSD. Actually, you can clone the two OS in any order you wish.

    As part of your backup procedure, you can use WinClone to occasionally save a current image in case you need to reinstall Windows. CCC can be used to backup your OS X as well, or use TimeMachine.

    Note: Once you create your external Windows image on the SSD, you will have to delete the internal one before you can run it. Windows can't handle 2 active copies at the same time. The easiest way to delete the internal Windows partition is to use "BootCamp Assistant", which will give you the option to delete the Windows partition and return the disk space to the OS X partition.

    -howard

    ----------

    I use VMware Fusion to run a virtual Windows off of the external bootable Windows environment on a Thunderbolt SSD. I can then access the Windows either way ... bootable for games (speed), or VM for other uses.
     
  7. truciet macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    #7
    How did you setup your Fusion? It wouldn't detect my partition no matter what I did.

    Mac off external SSD
    Windows off external SSD

    Both works 100% seprately

    However, Fusion won't detect the windows partition to import it. It makes me create a new one so I don't want to do that.

    The only way it worked for me was I had to use the internal HD for boot camp and Fusion detected it right away.

    So right now my iMac is setup the following:

    Mac off external SSD
    Bootcamp off internal 1TB

    Both work 100% separately but now I can use parallels/fusion to use existing boot camp inside Mac.
     
  8. hfg macrumors 68040

    hfg

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
    #8
    I simply use the WinClone procedure in the previous post, delete the internal Windows partition, and run Fusion selecting the "add" option for a new BootCamp VM. I have done this many times without any problems with my Mac Mini and iMac (I can't seem to decide if I want Windows internal or external ... and change my mind every few months it seems). :eek:

    Somewhat similar ... My Mac Pro has OS X and Windows on SSDs mounted to PCIe cards on the backplane bus, which are treated as "external drives" to the system. This works here as well.
     
  9. truciet macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    #9
    I'll do some testing later this weekend. I'll partition my SSD and try to winclone my internal windows to it. Hopefully parallels see the partition to import it.
     
  10. Truefan31 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Truefan31

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    #10
    Awesome info. This is what I needed to know. I want half for windows and other for Mac for improved speed. I'll use the internal drive for storage

    ----------


    I'm told I have to use windows 8 though for EFI to be able to use externally
     
  11. hfg macrumors 68040

    hfg

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
    #11
    I have used this method for both Windows 7 and now Windows 8 (8.1), both times also using VMware Fusion to access them as a VM as well.

    There are several threads with alternate methods for doing this on these forums, and I have tried them all and they work as well. But this simple method works for me every time ... and I use CCC daily, and WinClone often for backup/clone purposes.

    My favorite external enclosures which will boot Windows are the LaCie "Rugged" (buy with SSD up to 500GB ... or buy HD refurb units and replace disk with SSD) and the Seagate "GoFlex" Thunderbolt adapter (you can get the plastic disk shells on eBay to enclose your SSD for a finished look).
     
  12. Truefan31 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Truefan31

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    #12
    Oh ok. Wonder why I was told win 7 wouldn't work
     
  13. hfg macrumors 68040

    hfg

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
    #13
    There is a lot of activity on the Forum regarding external Windows install on the new Mac Pro ... and Windows 7 seems to be unable to exist on these new systems. Perhaps that is what you are hearing?

    With the 8.1 update to Windows 8, you can boot directly to the old style desktop to avoid the "Metro" thing, so I am using Windows 8.1 on the bootable systems (I still have a standalone Windows 7 VM hanging around in case I need it ... haven't so far. :rolleyes:


    -howard
     

Share This Page