Move paid apps to new mac

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by elf69, Nov 28, 2016.

  1. elf69 macrumors 68000

    elf69

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Location:
    Cornwall UK
    #1
    I bought paragon for mac to mount windows drives.

    I am forced to sell my 2009 unibody macbook due to car MOT soon.

    I will have to go back to my 17" 2007 macbook pro.

    Can I deactivate paragon and reinstall on the old mac?

    I emailed paragon and was told no, it is tied to the unibody and moving it violates the license agreement.

    Anyone moved paragon to new mac?

    Also same question about Stellar Photo Recovery.
    As on yet no reply from Stella support.
     
  2. akwarner macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    #2
    Yes you can. I own several Paragon products and you can do what is called Release a license for re-use on another machine. Here is the verbiage from their Website when I go to release one of my licenses:

    You are about to release the license from the device with GUID xxxx.xxxx.xxxxx.xxxxx. If you continue, the software will stop working on the device and you'll be able to use it on a different device. Please note that you can only release a license 5 times.

    Hope that helps.

    A.
     
  3. elf69 thread starter macrumors 68000

    elf69

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Location:
    Cornwall UK
    #3
    Thank you.

    If only five times might release but not install until I can buy a new mac.
    I got an old 2007 17" pro I will have to use as need sell the 2009 unibody to fund car repair.

    In uk the 2009 unibody are selling for between £200 and £300 depending on spec.

    But think I'm going to need paragon at work, or I got back to my atom netbook... nah that just stupid!

    very helpful, unlike paragon customer services.
     
  4. elf69 thread starter macrumors 68000

    elf69

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Location:
    Cornwall UK
    #4
    I have moved BOTH paid apps to the older pro.

    Paragon was easiest with help above thanks.

    Stellar was ok, just had to put first mac offline install on new one activate it, then put other one back online and downgrade license to trial and all is good.

    Even though Stellar support told me it was not possible and I would have to buy it again.
     

Share This Page