Move PC Contents to Mac? Please help!

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by serendip, Apr 19, 2008.

  1. serendip macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    #1
    Please help! I've gotten myself so confused, I can't even figure out what to search to get the answers. Please type slowly, so maybe I will understand. :eek::eek:

    I have a Dell PC. It is older than dirt. Runs Win XP Home SP2. It does not have any wireless capability. It has a CDRW but not DVD. I connect to the internet through a cable modem. I need a new computer, but Windows Vista is not allowed in my home.

    I am going to purchase an iMac (20", 2.4, 4mg ram, 320 HD) and it will have WinXP Home SP2 and Parallels already installed on it. I will not be using Boot Camp.

    (I will be buying a router, in case I want to move the iMac to another room at any point. I don't know which router yet, one confusion at a time! I've never dealt with networking. Sigh.)

    Where I've gotten myself totally confused... how do I move all the applications, files, etc from the PC to the Mac? (The place I'm buying the Mac (Small Dog) will transfer it all, but it could mean days without my computer for that to happen, and I can't be without it.)

    I don't have an external hard drive. I've read about Parallels Transporter, but I'm still confused - more confused. :eek:

    I've also read about Laplink PC mover... with a USB to USB cable, it will move everything I chose (I think!) from PC to Mac if you use Parallels, etc.

    Will Parallel's Transporter do that, if I purchase a USB to USB cable?

    Should I get Laplink and the cable?

    Please help! I'm so confused and reading the Parallels website and pdfs are making me more confused. Step by step for those too stupid to read the "...for Dummies" book would be best, please. :eek:

    Thank you!! :D
     
  2. basesloaded190 macrumors 68030

    basesloaded190

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #2
    i think you can accomplish this by connecting the two computers with an ethernet cable. i could be mistaken, but i think that is one of the easiest ways to do what you want
     
  3. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    You essentially can't transfer your apps from your old Dell to new XP partition unless you are good with computers. Really you'll have to be without your PC if you want them to do it.

    You can transfer files across to the new Mac, but due to the Windows registry you cannot transfer applications as easily, without moving an image across.
     
  4. serendip thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    #5
    Thank you both for the help!

    Being without a computer means not working, so that isn't an option. I can spend the time reloading all the apps into Windows on the iMac if the Laplink program doesn't work.

    And thanks for the link, basesloaded190 - a cable for moving files has to be faster than burning to disks and transferring that way.

    Thank you! :D
     
  5. SDDave2007 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    #6
    THIS IS EASY!

    PARALLELS v3.0 comes with a program called PARALLELS TRANSPORTER. It will make a Parallels partition that is an EXACT clone of your PC. It takes a few hours.... but it is two click of the mouse

    Don't screw around trying to do it any other way. The registry is moved, all application installs still work. You may have to reactivate Windows, but you'd have to do that anyways
     
  6. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #7
    I would this way
     
  7. steveza macrumors 68000

    steveza

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    Me too :)
     
  8. serendip thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    #9
    Thank you!! :D

    The few hours is nothing. But how does it transfer from the PC to the iMac? Will it work with USB to USB cable?

    Or must I get a router now, and create a network to do it?
     
  9. serendip thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    #10
    Thank you both! Are you saying you would use VMWare Fusion instead of Parallels?

    Or regardless of that decision, to use the VMWare Converter?

    And, would I transfer that virtual machine via USB to USB or...?

    Thank you!! :D
     

Share This Page