Move SSD From Dual Core i5 to Quad Core Server Mini

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by bleepjay, Dec 5, 2011.

  1. bleepjay macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    #1
    Here's my situation...

    I'm upgrading my 2011 i5 mini (discrete graphics) to the Quad Core i7 Server Mini. We don't have to go into the reasons why, but I feel like the server will help me with VMWare Fusion performance with multiple machines open.

    My question is this, I currently have a 256GB SSD installed in my i5. Can I just move this over to the new Server when it comes? Will the Lion Install detect a processor change and be ok with it, or will I run into problems and have to reinstall everything on this SSD?

    If I have to do a reinstall, what would the easiest/best way to do this? Should I try to do a Time Machine reinstall or go with a SuperDuper! backup/restore?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. manicwinter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    #2
    I moved my SSD from my 2.5 mini to the server and it worked fine except that it introduced about a 20 second boot delay. I'm not sure why. I eventually did a clean install and the boot delay went away.
     
  3. reebzor macrumors 6502a

    reebzor

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #3
    It should just work fine.

    If I were you, I would do a reinstall from a Time Machine Backup just to make sure there will be no weird little issues.
     
  4. jmcgeejr macrumors 6502

    jmcgeejr

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #4
    This is because the new machine was looking for the old hdd to boot from and then it finally sees the new one and boots from that one. If you just do a target boot in osx and choose the new drive that will go away if you ever move hdd's again.
     
  5. newfoundglory macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    #5
    If you have changed the hardware, did you reset the PRAM?
     
  6. manicwinter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    #6
    Thanks, that makes sense - I'll remember that for next time.
     
  7. bleepjay thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    #7
    Just curious, do you like the server better? Any reason you switched?



    I'm assuming you mean in 'Startup Disk' in System Preferences, correct?
     
  8. manicwinter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    #8
    I originally got the one with the dedicated graphics because I thought it was going to get handed down to my kids eventually and they play games. They ended up with my wife's iMac instead so the dedicated graphics wasn't needed anymore.

    The other reason I switched besides the CPU was the extra hard drive and more video RAM. The HD 3000 actually handles my 27 LED cinema display a little better than the ATI did since it has more video RAM (when you put 8GB in it). The ATI was great at 1080p though.

    I can't say I notice the CPU speed difference except when using Handbreak. Everything else I do only uses 4 threads and the 2.7 is faster until you get to 5.

    I would say unless you really need 8 threads or use the LED/Thundrebolt monitor the 2.7 is better.
     
  9. bleepjay thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    #9
    That makes sens. I've got the 27" thunderbolt display so I guess it should help, but I figured that with VMWare, I may use more threads if I have multiple VM's open at once. I also like having the extra drive as well. It seems like I made the right choice.

    I guess my next choice is if I should utilize this extra mini or try to sell it.
     
  10. shortcut3d macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    #10
    I also ended up with an extra 2011 Mac Mini 2.7GHz i7 playing around with a HTPC setup. Still debating if I'm going to sell or try to repurpose. I just swapped my "good" drives (OCZ Vertex 3 MI and WD Scorpio Black) out and put in two Hitachi 72K5 drives. Then swapped out the Kingston Hyper X 1866MHz for plain 8GB Samsung. So now I'm one step closer to selling, but I was still impressed how fast Lion installed without the SSD. These are good systems.
     

Share This Page