Move the menu-bar to other screen automatically?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by wastedminutes, Jun 1, 2010.

  1. wastedminutes macrumors newbie

    wastedminutes

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Location:
    Cumbria, England
    #1
    I'm pretty new to OS X, having just got my MBP 15" 2010 model.
    I use my laptop with a external monitor for music production, and when I use a particular piece of software, I like to have it on my (bigger) external display. I'm wondering if there's any way (using Automator possibly?) to set the menu bar to switch screens automatically when I open this program?

    Any help is appreciated.
     
  2. Capt Crunch macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    #2
    Open system preferences -> click on displays -> click on arrangement -> drag the menubar to the large screen (and arrange the displays how you like)

    Now whenever you plug in the external screen the menubar will be on the external. Works like a charm for me.
     
  3. Ronnoco macrumors 68030

    Ronnoco

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Location:
    United States of America
    #3
    Works for me as well...:D
     
  4. Dozerrox macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Location:
    Exeter
    #4
    It sounds like he only wants it to happen when he opens a specific program.
     
  5. mmulin macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    #5
    Can't do it application based but use above method to set it up and OSX will remember your settings for different screen configurations.
     
  6. Ronnoco macrumors 68030

    Ronnoco

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Location:
    United States of America
    #6
    He can move the toolbar to either display and move the window for app he wants to that display...
     

Share This Page