move the menu bar?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by BabaG, Aug 25, 2008.

  1. BabaG macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    #1
    i'm working on a macpro with leopard viewing a lot of video.
    i have three lower monitors on a matrox triplehead2go and
    a larger solo monitor above them on which i watch the video.
    i have the desktop background set to black so as not to add
    excess light in the room while viewing. this setup would be
    pretty much perfect if it wasn't for the menu bar at the top
    of the triplehead screens. in a dark room with dark screens,
    the menu bar appears as a blinding white (gray but in context
    it seems very bright) line through my viewing environment.

    can i move the menu bar to the bottom of the screen? it
    would at least be out of the way more there. if so, how?

    alternatively, can i make it transparent or black? i'd like to
    avoid adding software to the system to do so but if that's
    the only way i might be ok with it.

    edit:
    ok. search is a good thing. apparently my video cards must
    not support the transparency that comes built in; either that
    or i turned something off in optimizing the system for video.
    the former, most likely. so can i move it somehow?

    thanks for any help,
    BabaG
     
  2. epochblue macrumors 68000

    epochblue

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    #2
    To the best of my knowledge, it's not possible to move the menubar, although I'm interested to see if someone knows otherwise.
     
  3. ScoobyMcDoo macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, TX
  4. BabaG thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    #4
    thanks ScoobyMcDoo.

    looked at the article. may try it later. in the short term i found
    that one of the suggested utilities wasn't free, one didn't work,
    and the link to the droplet someone made just opens a blog
    page.

    anyone got any other ideas that work with 10.5?

    thanks again,
    BabaG
     
  5. r0k macrumors 68040

    r0k

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    Detroit
    #5
    The technique in the link refers to a plist editor either included with xcode or shareware.

    I have xcode installed so the plist editor is supposed to be there. I will try it later. Meanwhile, you might consider that shareware plist editor as xcode is free but it is a rather large download and you have to register as an Apple developer to download it (also free).
     

Share This Page