Move Win 8.1 from HP Desktop to rMBP - Possible?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by tigerintank, Oct 30, 2013.

1. tigerintank macrumors regular

Not a big Windows user, but feel i'd get more benefit from dual booting my Mac than using my Windows licence on my Microserver, as I do currently.

Way back had installed the Win 8 trial initially, then upgraded to full price Win 8 when it was launched. Iirc I did it via the MS download option ie I don't have a DVD version, tho am sure I must still have the download file somewhere.

Recently upgraded to Win 8.1, again via download and so still no DVD!

So my question is in 2 parts;

1. Will MS 'allow me' to effectively move my copy of windows? I'm no Windows expert, but i think i remember that sometimes there are unexpected restrictions!

2. If yes then how do i go about installing onto the rMBP - do i need to do a 3 stage install - Win 8 Trial, Win 8 proper on top and then finally Win 8.1? Or can I somehow just go straight for Win 8.1?

2. saturnotaku, Oct 30, 2013
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2013

saturnotaku macrumors 68000

If your HP has an OEM license, it is tied to that machine so you cannot move it to your Mac. Thus, you would need to buy a new copy of Windows. If you bought Windows 8 directly from MS, then it is a retail license and can be transferred, though you will need to remove the existing install from your other machine.

When you install Windows on the Mac, one of the first things it will ask you for is the product key, so have that handy from the e-mail you received when you placed your order. You will have to download an ISO of the full Windows 8 installer and put it on an 8 GB or larger thumb drive or burn it to a DVD and use an external drive in order to install it on your Mac.

3. xcodeSyn macrumors 6502a