Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

guitarchordz

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 8, 2009
Hi all!

I'm new to the iPhone.
What do I need to load movies onto my iPhone 3GS?

What format should they all be as? Also, is there a good converter out there I could use?

Thanks!

samcraig

macrumors P6
Jun 22, 2009
USA
HandBrake is the best for me; and the MP4 format is what works for me....:cool::cool::cool:

I've been using the ipod/iphone preset and getting m4v's which work great as well. I like that you can not only rip dvd's with the software, but also convert just about any format to a usable one

Andrew K.

macrumors 65816
Jul 9, 2008
Can anyone answer why Handbrake takes so damn long? :mad: and if there is a faster program to burn encrypted discs for backup?;) I have disco but it won't rip certain discs, I have to wait for ol' handbrake to finish ughh

gloss

macrumors 601
May 9, 2006
around/about
Can anyone answer why Handbrake takes so damn long? :mad: and if there is a faster program to burn encrypted discs for backup?;) I have disco but it won't rip certain discs, I have to wait for ol' handbrake to finish ughh

Because it's ripping and re-encoding in real time, which is extremely processor intensive.

You might theoretically speed things up, if you have the HD space, by using MactheRipper to rip the DVDs to your HD first, and then just queuing them all up for encoding overnight.

FuriousD

macrumors regular
Feb 26, 2008
UK

Agree it does take some time. Also i have had the finish product on my phone and the sound is out of sync with the movie.

D

guitarchordz

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 8, 2009
Thanks all for your prompt responses!

I have d/l Handbrake and have already started converting a movie.
And Yes...it sure is taking a while to finish that one movie.

I hope the movie quality remains good and that the sound will be in sync with the video.

Ninja Dom