Movies on iPhone 3GS!

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by guitarchordz, Jul 17, 2009.

1. guitarchordz macrumors newbie

Hi all!

I'm new to the iPhone.
    What do I need to load movies onto my iPhone 3GS?

What format should they all be as? Also, is there a good converter out there I could use?

Thanks!

2. jmann macrumors 604

jmann

bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    You should use a program like VisualHub or Handbrake they both work great, and have an iPhone preset!

3. SFStateStudent macrumors 604

SFStateStudent

HandBrake is the best for me; and the MP4 format is what works for me....:cool::cool::cool:

4. londonmystery macrumors 6502

londonmystery

You can download a piece of software called "Handbrake". This will convert dvds into a format that the iphone can read.
    :):)

5. Metsfan7450 macrumors regular

Metsfan7450

My favorite is Videora. It's really easy to use and I've never had any problems.

6. samcraig macrumors P6

I've been using the ipod/iphone preset and getting m4v's which work great as well. I like that you can not only rip dvd's with the software, but also convert just about any format to a usable one

7. SFStateStudent macrumors 604

SFStateStudent

I've used the MPEG Streamline on several occasions, but HandBrake remains my favorite.....:cool::cool::cool:

8. yalag macrumors 65816

9. TheSpaz macrumors 604

TheSpaz

10. Andrew K. macrumors 65816

Can anyone answer why Handbrake takes so damn long? :mad: and if there is a faster program to burn encrypted discs for backup?;) I have disco but it won't rip certain discs, I have to wait for ol' handbrake to finish ughh

11. gloss macrumors 601

gloss

Because it's ripping and re-encoding in real time, which is extremely processor intensive.

You might theoretically speed things up, if you have the HD space, by using MactheRipper to rip the DVDs to your HD first, and then just queuing them all up for encoding overnight.

12. FuriousD macrumors member