Movies On Tc

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by aidricksdad, Apr 24, 2009.

  1. aidricksdad macrumors regular

    aidricksdad

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Location:
    Round Rock
    #1
    i want to store all my movies from itunes on my time capsule wich is about 20 feet away. do you think i will have any issues playing them on my appletv if they have to go from the tc to my iMac then to the appletv? will it be slow? or should it be fine since i have 802.11n?

    thnx
     
  2. Shuttleworth macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    My iTunes library is on a NAS drive attached to a TC through via ethernet and is on a N network, similar to what you are proposing. I've not had any problems streaming to it yet.
     
  3. aidricksdad thread starter macrumors regular

    aidricksdad

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Location:
    Round Rock
    #3
    hey thanx a lot, i just put the movie folder on it last night (takes like 12 hours for 190gb) just wanted to check before i deleted my folder on my hdd
     
  4. natebookpro macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Location:
    Maryland
    #4
    I would be scared to delete them! Imagine all those hours of ripping if the Time Capsule drive went down. I suggest a backup solution.
     
  5. aidricksdad thread starter macrumors regular

    aidricksdad

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Location:
    Round Rock
    #5
    i have another backup...i just ment get them off my hard drive and if it didnt work spending another half a day waiting for it to copy back
     
  6. motownflip macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #6
    that's where my movies are, and I've had no problems thus far.
     
  7. aidricksdad thread starter macrumors regular

    aidricksdad

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Location:
    Round Rock
    #7
    well i tried it and it loads a movie about 5-10 seconds slower on both appletv and imac.....does anyone know if timecapsule is using 802.11 on 5gh or defaulting to g cuz it seams it should be faster 12 hours to do 190 or so gb does that sound right?

    also hd movies would constantly buffer if they were on tc
     
  8. natebookpro macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Location:
    Maryland
    #8
    Airport Utilities>Time Capsule>Wireless>Radio Mode Set to 802.11n 5ghz
     
  9. aidricksdad thread starter macrumors regular

    aidricksdad

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Location:
    Round Rock
    #9
    Thanx i already did that....... but mine doesn't say 5ghz...
     
  10. rgarjr macrumors 603

    rgarjr

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Location:
    Southern Cal
    #10
    Which TC do u have older model or 2009? I have all my movies on USB enclosure hard drive connected to my aebs. However I'm in the process of building a little server machine with a big hard drive.
     
  11. aidricksdad thread starter macrumors regular

    aidricksdad

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Location:
    Round Rock
    #11
    2009 and i finally figured it out...i looked at my wireless clients and saw that i was only using g so i had to manually add the 5gh and now it will use n also...before i did that it would never use n so i dont know but now its really fast like 4 times faster but i havent had time to put some hd movies back on the tc and play on appletv yet....everytime i think i have something set up I FIND A NEW AND BETTER WAY TO DO IT maybe one day ill acually be able to sit down and watch something but its still fun either way


    i think it will always default to g if you have any g devices on your network thats why the 5gh is so great
     

Share This Page