Movies won't play...help please!

Discussion in 'macOS' started by callmemike20, Mar 16, 2008.

  1. callmemike20 macrumors 6502a

    callmemike20

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Location:
    USA
    #1
    I just copied about 6 movies via handbrake to my computer. This took about 15 hours. Then I went into MetaX to add the descriptions and box arts. Now, when I try to open the movie, quicktime and itunes wont play them. I get the error "An invalid sample description was found in the movie." They have mp4 extensions and i changed them to 3gp because someone said that would work, but it didn't. Please help. I don't want to have to recopy all of these. It took too long.

    Also, the movies WILL play in VLC, but nothing else.

    Mike
     
  2. mackindergarten macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    #2
    Hi,

    did you change the extension back to .mp4?
     
  3. callmemike20 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    callmemike20

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Location:
    USA
  4. callmemike20 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    callmemike20

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Location:
    USA
    #4
    Hmm. It seems like my only TV series, Curb Your Enthusiasm, seems to be ok. This is the only show that I did separately from the rest in metax. Do you think metaX might have done something to the movie files?
     
  5. mackindergarten macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    #5
    You could certainly try to pin down the error.
    Try ripping one episode as you did.
    Play it. Works?
    MetaX it.
    Play it again? Works?

    If yes, the problems lies somewhere else as in MetaX.
     
  6. callmemike20 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    callmemike20

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Location:
    USA
    #6
    I think I got it to work. I just redid the metaX part and now one of my movies is working. I'm working on the rest now.

    Thanks all,

    Mike.
     
  7. callmemike20 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    callmemike20

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Location:
    USA
    #7
    Never mind. It worked for a few seconds, and now it doesn't work again.
     

Share This Page